American Sociological Association

Teaching and Learning

The purpose of the Section on Teaching and Learning is to provide a professional outlet for improving the teaching of sociology from the high school through graduate level. It encourages and facilitates innovative and effective pedagogy and research. The section offers two awards: the Hans O. Mauksch Award and the Carla. B. Howery Scholarly Contributions to Teaching and Learning Award.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Michelle A. Smith, Lakeland Community College 2017
Past Chair: Maxine P. Atkinson, North Carolina State University 2017
Chair-Elect: Jay R. Howard, Butler University 2017
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Daina Cheyenne Harvey, College of the Holy Cross 2018
Student Representative: Barbara F. Prince, Bowling Green State University 2017
Section Council Member, 4 Year School: Leslie T.C. Wang, Saint Mary's College 2019
Section Council Member, University: Shannon N. Davis, George Mason University 2019
Section Council Member, 2 Year School: Laurie Jordan Linhart, Des Moines Area Community College 2019

Section Council

Jan E. Thomas, Kenyon College 2017
Lissa J. Yogan, Valparaiso University 2018
Mary Nell Trautner, University at Buffalo, SUNY 2017
Alison S. Better, Kingsborough Community College, CUNY 2018
Stephanie Medley-Rath, Indiana University Kokomo 2018
Michaela A. Nowell, University of Wisconsin-Fond du Lac 2017

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline