American Sociological Association


The primary governing body of the association is the elected Council.  The ASA Council is responsible for the formulation of policy, sets the general direction of the Association, and cares for the general interests of the members of the Association.  The Council appoints committees, establishes criteria for the various categories of membership, sets dues, and sets meeting dates and locations of the membership.  The Council is composed of a maximum of nineteen members which includes twelve members elected at large and seven ex officio members.  

2017-2018 ASA Council


President: Eduardo Bonilla-Silva, Duke University
President-Elect: Mary Romero, Arizona State University
Vice President: Christopher Uggen, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Vice President-Elect: Grace Kao, Yale University
Past Vice President: Kathleen Gerson, New York University
Past President: Michèle Lamont, Harvard University
Secretary: David T. Takeuchi, Boston College (2019)
Executive Officer: Nancy Kidd

Council Members-at-Large:

Mignon R. Moore, Barnard College - Columbia University (2018)
Wendy Ng, San Jose State University (2018)
Daniel F. Chambliss, Hamilton College (2018)
Cynthia Feliciano, University of California - Irvine (2018)
Nina Bandelj, University of California - Irvine (2019)
Mabel Berezin, Cornell University (2019)
Monica McDermott, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (2019)
Andrew J. Perrin, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill (2019)
Kimberly Ann Goyette, Temple University (2020)
Erin Kelly, MIT (2020)
Zulema Valdez, UC Merced (2020)
Rhys H. Williams (2020)

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership