homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsstaffasa home

ASA General Election Results

Patricia Hill Collins Elected ASA President; Margaret Andersen Vice President

Patricia Hill Collins, University of Maryland, has been elected to serve as the 100th President of the American Sociological Association (ASA) for 2008-09. Margaret Andersen of the University of Delaware has been elected Vice President-Elect. Collins and Andersen will assume their respective offices in August 2008, following a year of service as President-Elect and Vice President- Elect, respectively. Collins and the 2009 Program Committee are responsible for shaping the ASA Annual Meeting, which will be held in San Francisco, CA, August 8-11, 2009. As President, Collins also will serve as Chair of the ASA Council, which governs the Association and its policies.

Patricia Hill Collins is the 2007 recipient of the ASA Distinguished Book Award for her book Black Sexual Politics: African Americans, Gender, and the New Racism. This book exemplifies Collins’ work in the areas of racial theory, intersectional theory, black feminist theory and gender. Margaret Andersen was the recipient of the 2006 ASA Jessie Bernard Award for her tireless efforts in creating scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society.

The four newly elected Council Members-at-Large are: Marjorie DeVault, Syracuse University; Clara Rodriguez, Fordham University; Marc Schneiberg, Reed College; and Robin Stryker, University of Minnesota. Also elected were two members to the Committee on Publications, six members to the Committee on Nominations, and four members to the Committee on Committees.

In announcing the results of the election, Secretary Franklin Wilson and Executive Officer Sally T. Hillsman extended their heartiest congratulations to the newly elected officers and committee members, and appreciation to all who have served the Association by running for office and by voting in this election.

A Growth Pattern

Continuing a pattern of growth, members of the ASA community took part in the 2007 election in record numbers. Of the 11,212 members eligible to vote, 4,841 cast ballots in this election. This translates to a very strong 43.18% participation rate, which surpasses the participation rates of similar scholarly societies. Many nonprofit associations typically have participation rates among eligible voters of less than 20%. ASA Sections also made a very strong showing, with 21 Sections recording more than 50% participation in their 2007 elections.

Of the 4,841 votes cast, 81.72% were cast online, with the remaining 18.18% of the votes cast via paper ballots. In the 2006 election, 78.96% of the votes were cast electronically.

Below is the full slate of newly elected officers.

Patricia Hill Collins, University of Maryland
Margaret L. Andersen, University of Delaware

Marjorie L. DeVault, Syracuse University
Clara Rodriguez, Fordham University
Marc Schneiberg, Reed College
Robin Stryker, University of Minnesota

Committee on Publications
Patricia Yancey Martin, Florida State University
Christine L. Williams, University of Texas–Austin

Committee on Nominations
Kathy Charmaz, Sonoma State University
Tyrone Forman, University of Illinois–Chicago
Cecilia Menjivar, Arizona State University Robert J. Sampson, Harvard University Mario Luis Small, University of Chicago Deirdre Royster, College of William and Mary

Committee on Committees
Sara R. Curran, University of Washington
Ivy Kennelly, George Washington University
Tina Martinez, Blue Mountain Community College
Mark C. Suchman, University of Wisconsin-Madison