homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

2005 ASA Candidates

The American Sociological Association is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for ASA Offices, Council, and the Committee on Publications. Ballots for the 2005 ASA election will be mailed in early May 2005. The candidates are:

Larry D. Bobo, Harvard University
Frances Fox Piven, City University of New York-Graduate School and University Center

Vice President-Elect
Bonnie Thornton-Dill, University of Maryland-College Park
Diane Vaughan, Boston College

Council Members-at-Large
Judith D. Auerbach, American Foundation for AIDS Research
Peter Conrad, Brandeis University
Evelyn Nakano Glen, University of California-Berkeley
Carol A. Jenkins, Glendale Community College
Michele Lamont, Harvard University
Jane D. McLeod, Indiana University
Gay W. Seidman, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Donald Tomaskovic-Devey, North Carolina State University

Publications Committee
Kathryn J. Edin, University of Pennsylvania
Michael Hout, University of California-Berkeley
Verna M. Keith, Arizona State University
Mitchell L. Stevens, New York University

The elected members of the Committee on Nominations prepared this list of candidates for the 2005 election. As stated in the ASA Bylaws, members of the association may nominate additional candidates. Petitions supporting additional candidates for the offices of President-Elect and Vice President-Elect must be signed by at least 100 supporting voting members of the Association; petition candidates for other positions must receive the supporting signatures of at least 50 voting members. All petitions must arrive in the Executive Office by January 31, 2005, and be addressed to the attention of the ASA Governance Office. Mail petitions to: American Sociological Association, ATTN: Association Governance, 1307 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005. If you have any questions about the slate of candidates or the petition process, please send e-mail to or call (202) 383-9005 extension 327.