American Sociological Association


The search found 1163 results in 0.009 seconds.

Search results

  1. Sociology Department at Washington State University Award Statement

    Over the last 50 years the Sociology Department at Washington State University has exemplified the spirit of the DuBois-Johnson-Frazier Award (D-J-F) by actively recruiting, mentoring, and producing outstanding African American scholars. In what remains an unmatched level of accomplishment, Washington State University’s Sociology Department has graduated more than 25 African American PhDs.

  2. Kimberly Kay Hoang Award Statement



    This year’s Dissertation Award was given to Dr. Kimberly Hoang.

  3. Sarah L. Babb Award Statement

    Sarah L. Babb Award Statement

    Sarah L. Babb, Northwestern University, for “The Evolution of Economic Expertise in a Developing Country: Mexican Economics, 1929-1998”

  4. Jason Beckfield Award Statement

    Jason Beckfield Award Statement

  5. Larissa Buchholz Dissertation Award Statement


    Larissa Buchholz

  6. Christopher Michael Muller - 2015 Dissertation Award

    Christopher Michael Muller

    “Historical Origins of Racial Inequality in Incarceration in the United States” 

    Between 1970 and 2010, the U.S. imprisonment rate increased fivefold, from roughly 100 per 100,000 residents to roughly 500 per 100,000 residents. No other nation incarcerates such a large proportion of its population. As the incarceration rate increased, it retained a striking racial disparity. African Americans today are imprisoned at about six times the rate of whites. 
  7. Dalton Clark Conley Award Statement

    Dalton Clark Conley Award Statement

    The 1997 ASA Dissertation Award winner was Dalton Conley for his dissertation entitled, “Being Black, Living in the Red: Wealth and the Cycle of Racial Inequality.” The research was funded by a National Science Foundation Dissertation Research Grant. The Department of Sociology at Columbia University awarded him distinction for his dissertation, an honor only rarely conferred by the University.

  8. Claire Laurier Decoteau Award Statement

    Claire Laurier Decoteau Award Statement  

    The 2009 recipient of the American Sociological Association Dissertation Award is Claire Decoteau for her dissertation, The Bio-Politics of HIV/AIDS in Post-Apartheid South Africa.Dr. Decoteau conducted this research while working toward a Ph.D. in Sociology from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.She is now continuing this line of work as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Sociology at the University of Illinois-Chicago.

  9. Jeremy Freese Award Statement

    Jeremy Freese Award Statement

  10. Brian Gifford and Greta Krippner Award Statement

    Brian Gifford and Greta Krippner Award Statement

    The award selection committee selected two recipients for the 2004 ASA Dissertation Award: Brian Gifford, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, for his States, Soldiers, and Social Welfare: Military Personnel and the Welfare State in the Advanced Industrial Democracies, and Greta Krippner, for her The Fictitious Economy: Financialization, the State, and Contemporary Capitalism .