American Sociological Association



The search found 321 results in 0.017 seconds.

Search results

  1. Affiliated Groups at the 2019 ASA Annual Meeting

    ASA provides two avenues for groups desiring to have a presence at the Annual Meeting. Policies on the use of meeting space and display tables are outlined below. Please note that because ASA Sections have been allotted program time, they are excluded from these provisions. Requests for meeting space and/or a display table must be received no later than March 1, 2019.

    Meeting Space

  2. Four Sociologists Elected as AAAS Fellows

    The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) named four sociologists, among its elected 416 fellows. They are Carter T. Butts, John B. Casterline, Monica Kirkpatrick Johnson, and Elaine Wethington, and with other new AAAS Fellows will be recognized for their contributions to science on February 16, 2019, during the Fellows Forum at the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. 

  3. 2019 ASA Student Forum Advisory Board (SFAB):
Call for Nominations

    The Student Forum Advisory Board (SFAB) is the official governing arm for the ASA Student Forum, which provides resources for graduate and undergraduate sociology students, helps develop networks among student members, and facilitates student participation in ASA by encouraging professional development and service. SFAB members are elected by the ASA student membership.

  4. Sorokin Lecture Grants

    The ASA’s Sorokin Lecture Grants allow selected winners of major ASA awards in the past two calendar years to deliver a lecture at state, regional, or aligned sociological association meetings, or on academic campuses. ASA will cover the costs of travel and up to two days of hotel lodging for the Sorokin Lecturer. The host association or campus will be required to cover registration (if applicable) and any meals. Qualifying ASA awards include:

  5. ASA Section News

    Nominations Sought for 2019 Section Awards

    Each year, the ASA’s 52 sections celebrate the achievements of sociologists in their areas of academic interest. Awards are given for books, dissertations, articles, and student and career achievements. Consider nominating your colleagues and students. For more information about individual section awards, visit

    Winners of the 2018 Section Awards

  6. ASA Honors Program: Call for Nominations

    2019 Annual Meeting — New York, NY
    August 10-13, 2019

    Application Deadline: February 15

    ASA is seeking applications from exceptional undergraduate sociology majors who would like to participate in the 2019 ASA Honors Program. The 2019 ASA Honors Program will take place during the ASA Annual Meeting in New York. It provides undergraduate students with a rich introduction to the professional and intellectual life of the discipline.

  7. Funding: Carla B. Howery Teaching Enhancement Fund

    Deadline: February 1, 2019

    The Carla B. Howery Teaching Enhancement Fund provides small grants to support projects that advance the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) within the discipline of sociology. The Carnegie Foundation has defined SoTL as “problem posing about an issue of teaching or learning, study of the problem through methods appropriate to the disciplinary epistemologies, applications of results to practice, communication of results, self-reflection, and peer review.”

  8. Avoiding the Job Search from Hell

    ASA’s Department of Academic and Professional Affairs is developing resources on best practices in conducting faculty searches and we seek your help. Were you recently on the academic job market? Do you have experience serving on a faculty search committee? 

    We are interested in highlighting best-practice search strategies that:

  9. Preview the 2019 ASA Election Candidates

    The American Sociological Association announces the 2019 slate of candidates for ASA Officers, Council, Committee on Committees, Committee on Nominations, and Committee on Publications. Ballots for the 2019 ASA election will be distributed to eligible members in April 2019. Voting will close on May 31, 2019. 


    (Vote for 1; elected will serve from August 2019 to August 2022)

    • Shelley J. Correll, Stanford University
    • Aldon Morris, Northwestern University 

    Vice President-Elect