American Sociological Association

Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award

Selection Criteria and Eligibility

The Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award is given to an individual or individuals for their work in the intellectual traditions of the work of Oliver Cox, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier, three African American scholars. Cox, Johnson, and Frazier placed their scholarship in service to social justice, with an eye toward advancing the status of disadvantaged populations. Their scholarship was not limited to just the gathering of more data, but was rather scholarship that was attempting to better conditions globally.  Cox, Johnson, and Frazier worked to broaden the thinking of society and to broaden what the mainstream included.

In the spirit of the lifetime efforts of Cox, Johnson, and Frazier, the committee invites nominations of individuals or institutions with a record of outstanding work, such as, but not limited to:

  • Work on social justice issues
  • Work on human rights
  • Activism, community efforts, the building of institutions, or sustaining programs
  • Emphasis on African American or similarly disadvantaged racial/ethnic populations that have experienced historical racial discrimination

Occasionally, institutional commitment to social justice, to broadening the tradition to including and empowering marginalized scholars and marginalized peoples, is so compelling that this award can recognize a communal institutional effort.

Nomination Procedures

A new timeline for reviewing nominations and selecting winners will be implemented beginning in 2021. To transition to the new timeline, no nominations will be accepted in 2020.

Selection Committee Members

The selection committee is composed of nine members, each serving a staggered three-year term. Members are appointed from among the Association membership by the Council based on the recommendation of the Committee on Committees.

Name Begin End Position
Stacye Annyna Blount 1/1/2018 12/31/2020 Member
Karida Brown 1/1/2019 12/31/2020 Member
Karyn Lacy 1/1/2020 12/31/2020 Member
Becky Pettit 1/1/2018 12/31/2020 Member
Hayward Derrick Horton 1/1/2019 12/31/2021 Member
Denise A. Segura 1/1/2019 12/31/2021 Member
David G. Embrick 1/1/2020 12/31/2022 Member
Kris Marsh 1/1/2020 12/31/2022 Member
Victor E. Ray 1/1/2020 12/31/2022 Member


(Originally a biennial award for work in the tradition of DuBois, Johnson, and Frazier; now annual for work in the tradition of Cox, Johnson, and Frazier.)

2020 - Vilna Bashi Treitler

2019 - Sandra Barnes

2018 - Joe R. Feagin

2017 - Mary Romero

2016 - Thomas Fraser Pettigrew

2015 - Howard Winant

2014 - Richard O. Hope

2013 - Elijah Anderson

2012 - James W. Loewen

2011 - Eduardo Bonilla-Silva

2010 - Delores P. Aldridge

2009 - Aldon Morris

2008 - Cora B. Marrett

2007 - Jorge Bustamante

2006 - Rutledge M. Dennis

2005 - no recipient

2004 - Sociology Department at Washington State University

2003 - John Moland, Jr.

2002 - Walter R. Allen

2001 - Troy Duster

2000 - Charles U. Smith

1999 - no award given

1998 - Howard F. Taylor

1997 - G. Franklin Edwards

1996 - Edgar G. Epps

1994 - Charles V. Willie

1992 - Andrew Billingsley

1990 - William Julius Wilson

1988 - Doris Y. Wilkinson

1986 - James E. Blackwell

1984 - Joyce A. Ladner

1982 - Daniel C. Thompson

1980 - Joseph S. Himes

1978 - Ira DeAugustine Reid

1976 - Hylan G. Lewis

1973 - St. Clair Drake

1971 - Oliver Cromwell Cox

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership