American Sociological Association

ASA Footnotes

A publication of the American Sociological AssociationASA News & Events
June-August 2019

2019 ASA Election Results

ASA is pleased to announce the results of the 2019 ASA election. Thank you to all the candidates who generously volunteered their service, and congratulations to the new members of our leadership team.

Aldon Morris

Aldon Morris

Aldon Morris, Northwestern University, has been elected the 112th President of the American Sociological Association, and Rhacel Salazar Parrenas, University of Southern California, has been elected Vice President.

Professors Morris and Parrenas will assume their respective offices in August 2020, following a year of service as President-elect and Vice President-elect (2019-2020). Morris will chair the 2021 Program Committee that will shape the ASA Annual Meeting program in Chicago, August 7-10, 2021.

Members also elected four new Council Members-at-Large: Ruha Benjamin (Princeton University), Laura Hamilton (University of California-Merced), Maria Krysan (University of Illinois at Chicago), Vincent Roscigno (Ohio State University). Also elected were four members of the Committee on Committees, six members of the Committee on Nominations, and three members of the Committee on Publications

In announcing the results of the election, Secretary Nancy Lopez and Executive Director Nancy Kidd extended their heartiest congratulations to the newly elected leaders and their appreciation to all ASA members who have served the Association by running for office and voting in this election.


One-year term as President-Elect, one-year term as President, and one-year term as Past President
Aldon Morris, Northwestern University

Rhacel Parreñas

Rhacel Parreñas

Vice President-Elect

One-year term as Vice President-Elect, one-year term as Vice President, and one-year term as Past Vice President: Rhacel Salazar Parreñas, University of Southern California

Council Members-at-Large

Three-year terms:

Ruha Benjamin, Princeton University

Laura Hamilton, University of California, Merced

Maria Krysan, University of Illinois at Chicago

Vincent Roscigno, Ohio State University

Committee on Committees

Two-year terms:

Kara Cebulko, Providence College

Virginia D’Antonio, Northern Virginia Community College

Tyrone A. Forman, University of Illinois at Chicago

Melissa Wooten, University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Committee on Nominations

Two-year terms

Pawan Dhingra, Amherst College

Tanya Golash-Boza, University of California, Merced

Kimberly Kay Hoang, University of Chicago

Daniel Laurison, Swarthmore College

Anthony Paik, University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Wendy D. Roth, University of British Columbia

Committee on Publications

Three-year terms

Julia Adams, Yale University

Kristin Turney, University of California, Irvine

Debra Umberson, The University of Texas at Austin

Student Forum

Graduate Student Members, Two-year terms:

Madelyn Diaz, University of Central Florida

TehQuin D. Forbes, Florida State University

Karina Santellano, University of Southern California

Mi’Chael Wright, Howard University

Undergraduate Student Member, One-year term:

Kelsey Broadfield, Bennington College

Proposed Amendments the Student Forum Advisory Board Bylaws

The proposal amending the bylaws was approved.

Opportunities in Retirement Network

Two-year term:

Sarah Fenstermaker, University of California - Santa Barbara (Retired)

Harry Perlstadt, Michigan State University (retired)

David R. Segal, University of Maryland (retired)

Roberta Spalter-Roth, Center for Social Science Research, George Mason University

Proposed Amendments the Opportunities in Retirement Network Bylaws

The proposal amending the name to ASA Retirement Network as well as other changes was approved.