American Sociological Association

Results of the 2016 Election

June 8, 2016

Eduardo Bonilla-Silva, Duke University, has been elected the 109th President of the American Sociological Association (ASA). Christopher Uggen, University of Minnesota, has been elected Vice President. 

Bonilla-Silva and Uggen will assume their respective offices in August 2017, following a year of service as President-elect and Vice President-elect (2016-2017). Bonilla-Silva will chair the 2018 Program Committee that will shape the ASA Annual Meeting program in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, August 11-14, 2018. As ASA President, Bonilla-Silva will be a member of the ASA Council, which governs the association and its policies, and its chair in 2017-2018. He will also be a voting member of the ASA Committee on the Executive Office and Budget (2017-2019) and the 2018-2019 Publications Committee.

Members also elected four new Council Members-at-Large: Nina Bandelj (University of California-Irvine), Mabel Berezin (Cornell University), Monica McDermott (University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign), and Andrew Perrin (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill). Also elected were five members of the Committee on Publications: Jennifer Elyse Glick (Arizona State University), Matthew W. Hughey (University of Connecticut), Michael Kimmel (SUNY-Stonybrook), Quincy Thomas Stewart (Northwestern University), and Veronica Terriquez (University of California-Santa Cruz); as well as, six members of the Committee on Nominations, and four members of the Committee on Committees.

In announcing the results of the election, Secretary Mary Romero and Executive Officer Sally T. Hillsman extended their heartiest congratulations to the newly elected officers and committee members and their appreciation to all ASA members who have served the Association by running for office and by voting in this election.

About half of the voting members of the ASA community took part in the 2016 election, which is the traditional level of ASA member participation. ASA is one of the few scholarly associations having such a high level of participation. Of the 8,478 members eligible to vote in the 2016 election, 49 percent participated, compared to 48 percent in 2015. In the 52 ASA Sections elections, about 58 percent participated in 2016, an increase of over two percent compared to the previous year. All votes were cast online.

The full slate of the newly elected ASA-wide officers and committee members follows:


Eduardo Bonilla-Silva, Duke University

Vice President-Elect

Christopher Uggen, University of Minnesota

Council Members-at-Large

Nina Bandelj, University of California-Irvine
Mabel Berezin, Cornell University
Monica McDermott, University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign
Andrew J. Perrin, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Committee on Nominations

Japonica Brown-Saracino, Boston University
Hector Cordero-Guzman, CUNY Graduate Center
Kathleen E. Jenkins, The College of William and Mary
Samuel R. Lucas, University of California-Berkeley
Julia McQuillan, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Gilda L. Ochoa, Pomona College

Committee on Publications

Jennifer Elyse Glick, Arizona State University 
Matthew W. Hughey, University of Connecticut
Michael Kimmel, SUNY-Stonybrook
Quincy Thomas Stewart, Northwestern University
Veronica Terriquez, UC Santa Cruz

Committee on Committees

Nilda Flores-Gonzalez, University of Illinois at Chicago
Jennifer Hook, University of Southern California
Vivian Louie, William T. Grant Foundation
Susan C. Pearce, East Carolina University

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership