American Sociological Association

Announcing the 2018 ASA Award Recipients

February 2, 2018

The ASA awards are conferred on sociologists for outstanding publications and achievements in the scholarship, teaching, and the practice of sociology. The ASA proudly announces the recipients of the awards for 2018. Congratulations to the following honorees:

Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award

Joe R. Feagin, Texas A&M University

The Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award honors the intellectual traditions and contributions of Oliver Cox, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. The award is given either to a sociologist for a lifetime of research, teaching, and service to the community or to an academic institution for its work in assisting the development of scholarly efforts in this tradition.

Dissertation Award

This awardee will be announced in late spring.

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology

Kristin Anderson Moore, Child Trends

This award honors outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award recognizes work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others, work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as whole, or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare.

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award

Daniel F. Chambliss, Hamilton College

This award honors outstanding contributions to the undergraduate and/or graduate teaching and learning of sociology, which improve the quality of teaching.

Distinguished Scholarly Book Award

Lauren B. Edelman, University of California-Berkeley, for Working Law: Courts, Corporations, and Symbolic Civil Rights

This annual award is given for the best single book or monograph published in the two preceding calendar years.

Jessie Bernard Award

There is no 2018 winner of this award.

The Jessie Bernard Award recognizes scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology.

Public Understanding of Sociology Award

Adia M. Harvey Wingfield, Washington University in St. Louis

This award honors a person or persons who have made exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public.

W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award

Elijah Anderson, Yale University

The W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award honors scholars who have shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions. The award selection committee looks for work that substantially reorients the field in general or in a particular subfield.

Award recipients are selected by committees appointed by the ASA Committee on Committees and the ASA Council. These outstanding scholars will be recognized at the 2018 Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony on Sunday, August 12, at 4:30 p.m. in Philadelphia. The Awards Ceremony will precede the formal address of the ASA President Eduardo Bonilla-Silva. All registrants are invited to attend an Honorary Reception immediately following the address to congratulate President Bonilla-Silva and the award recipients.


Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership