American Sociological Association

Section on Methodology



Purpose of the Awards

The Paul F. Lazarsfeld Award recognizes a scholar who has made a career of outstanding contributions to methodology in sociology. The Leo Goodman Award recognizes contributions to sociological methodology or innovative uses of sociological methodology made by a scholar who is no more than 15 years past the date of the Ph.D. Each award is considered annually, although an Awards Committee may choose not to give an award in a given year.

2014 Award Winners

Paul F. Lazarsfeld Award for Contributions to the Field
Charles Ragin, University of California, Irvine

Leo Goodman Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher
Scott Lynch, Princeton University

Clifford Clogg Award for Best Graduate Student Paper
Jeremy Fiel, University of Wisconsin-Madison for "Decomposing School Resegregation: Social Closure, Racial Imbalance, and Racial Isolation" in the American Sociological Review 78:828-848.