American Sociological Association

Section on Methodology

Award Procedures

Award Procedures

The Paul F. Lazarsfeld Award recognizes a scholar who has made a career of outstanding contributions to methodology in sociology. The Leo Goodman Award recognizes contributions to sociological methodology or innovative uses of sociological methodology made by a scholar who is no more than 15 years past the date of the Ph.D. Each award is considered annually, although an Awards Committee may choose not to give an award in a given year.

Selection Procedure:

The Section Chair shall appoint an Awards Committee, consisting of three to five members and drawn from the section membership (including members of Council). For the consideration of the Lazarsfeld Award, a past winner of the award must be included on the committee. The two awards can, though do not have to, be deliberated on by the same committee. The Section Chair will notify the section membership of the opening of nominations in late Fall via the listserve and website. The Chair will forward nominations made by the membership to the Awards Committee who may add nominations of their own. The Committee will discuss worthy candidates and arrive at winners through a committee vote. If the members of the Committee cannot identify a worthy candidate or if controversies arise, they may consult the Methodology Council as a whole, asking for clarification of rules or criteria, opening the discussion to Council as a whole, or sending a slate of candidates for a vote. The Committee and Council reserve the right to forgo giving an award in a given year.

Announcing the Awards:

The winner of each Award will be contacted in advance of the meeting. Winners will be announced at the Methodology Section, presented with a placard at the Section Reception, and published in Footnotes.