American Sociological Association

Section on Global and Transnational Sociology

2015 Section Council

  • Chair: Nitsan Chorev, Brown University
  • Chair-Elect: Peggy Levitt, Wellesley College
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Kristen Shorette, Stony Brook University


  • Julian Go, Boston University
  • Ho-fung Hung, Johns Hopkins Sociology
  • Paul Almeida, University of California at Merced
  • Mounira Maya Charrad, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Rachel Schurman, University of Minnesota
  • Zsuzsa Gille, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Newsletter editors
  • Natasha Miric, University of California Irvine 
  • Cheng-Tong Lir Wang, University of California Irvine
Membership drive committee
  • Tatiana Andia, Brown University
  • Maja Tempe, MIT


The section’s current by-laws were ratified at a section business meeting during the ASA annual conference on August 9th, 2009, in San Francisco and revised in 2012/13 and 2015.

Amended 2015 By-Laws
Amended 2012/13 By-Laws

2009 By-Laws

Business Meeting Minutes

Previous Officers, Council, and Committee Members