American Sociological Association

2010 Section Awards

2010 Section Awards

The ASA Section on Global and Transnational Sociology is pleased to announce the distinguished winners of this year’s section awards. We will introduce the honorees and their work at the business meeting in Atlanta. Congratulations to all! For the award committees’ explanations of their decisions, and descriptions of the winners’ works, see: SGTS.awards2010.pdf.

Distinguished Career Award

Roland Robertson, Chair in Sociology and Global Society, University of Aberdeen
Committee: Colin Beck; David John Frank; and Ann Hironaka

Best Scholarly Book Award

Terrence C. Halliday and Bruce G. Carruthers. Bankrupt: Global Lawmaking and Systemic Financial Crisis (Stanford University Press 2009)
Committee: Nitsan Chorev; Heather Hurwitz; and Simone Pulver

Best Scholarly Article Award

Kiyoteru Tsutsui and Hwa Ji Shin “Global Norms, Local Activism, and Social Movement Outcomes: Global Human Rights and Resident Koreans in Japan.” Social Problems 55:391-418 (2008).
Committee: Sara Curran; Rachel Sullivan Robinson, and Miriam Abu Sharkh

Best Publication Award by an International Scholar

Max Haller, Roger Jowell, and Tom W. Smith, editors. The International Social Survey Programme, 1984-2009: Charting the Globe (Routledge 2009).
Committee: Elizabeth Heger Boyle; Katja M. Guenther; Joachim Savelsberg

Best Publication by a Graduate Student

Patricia Bromley and Susan Garnett Russell. “The Holocaust as History and Human Rights: A Cross-National Analysis of Holocaust Education in Social Science Textbooks, 1970-2008.” Prospects 153 (2010).
Committee: Salvatore Babones; Andrew Jorgenson; and Matt Mathias.