American Sociological Association

Teaching and Learning in Sociology

The purpose of the Section on Teaching and Learning is to provide a professional outlet for improving the teaching of sociology from the high school through graduate level. It encourages and facilitates innovative and effective pedagogy and research. The section offers two awards: the Hans O. Mauksch Award and the Carla. B. Howery Scholarly Contributions to Teaching and Learning Award.

Annual Report (2020)
Award Recipients 

Section Council

Chair: Stephanie Medley-Rath, Indiana University-Kokomo
Chair-Elect: Julie Pelton, University of Nebraska-Omaha
Past Chair: Alison S. Better, CUNY Kingsborough Community College
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Stacy Evans, Berkshire Community College
Megan Kathleen Allen, Gaston College (2 Year School)
Elizabeth Borland, The College of New Jersey (4 Year School)
Molly J. Dingel, Unversity of Minnesota Rochester (4 Year School)
Sarah Nell Epplen, Minnesota State University-Mankato (University)
Kerry Greer, University of British Columbia (University)
Sarah Hoiland, CUNY Hostos Community College (2 Year School)
Amanda May Jungels, Rice University (University)
Michele Lee Kozimor, Elizabethtown College (4 Year School)
Sharon Yee, Glendale Community College (2 Year School)
Ayrlia Welch (Student Representative)

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership