American Sociological Association

Sociology of Sexualities

The purpose of the Section on the Sociology of Sexualities is to encourage, enhance and foster research, teaching and other professional activities in the sociology of sexuality, for the development of sociology and the benefit of society, through organized meetings, conferences, newsletters, publications, awards, and other means deemed appropriate by the Section Council. The Section seeks to promote communication, collaboration, and consultation among scholars in sociology, the sociology of sexualities, and allied disciplines.

Annual Report (2020)
Award Recipients 

Section Council 

Chair: Vrushali Patil, Florida International University 
Chair-Elect: Angela Jones, SUNY-Farmingdale
Past Chair: Tey Meadow, Columbia University
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Theo Greene, Bowdoin College
Kate Henley Averett, University at Albany, SUNY
Shantel Gabrieal Buggs, Florida State University
Bethany M Coston, Virginia Commonwealth University
Minwoo Jung, University of Southern California (Student Representative)
Greggor Mattson, Oberlin College
Ghassan Moussawi, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Michelle Gomez Parra, The University of California, Santa Cruz (Student Representative)
Brandon Andrew Robinson, University of California-Riverside

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership