American Sociological Association

Sociology of Mental Health

The purpose of the Section on Sociology of Mental Health is to provide an integrative supportive framework for research on social factors in mental health. The Mental Health Section considers issues ranging from serious mental disorders to subjective indicators of quality of life. The focus is on research and theory pertaining to social processes and mental health functioning.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Kristen Marcussen, Kent State University 2020
Chair-Elect: Pamela Braboy Jackson, Indiana University 2020
Past Chair: Alisa K. Lincoln, Northeastern University 2020
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Brea Louise Perry, Indiana University 2020
Section Memb Cmte Chair: Matthew Andersson, Baylor University 2021
Section Award Committee Chair: Teresa L. Scheid, University of North Carolina-Charlotte 2020
Section Nominations Committee Chair: Lijun Song, Vanderbilt University 2020
Section Publications Committee Chair: Ning Hsieh, Michigan State University 2021
Student Representative: Tanya Rouleau Whitworth, University of Massachusetts-Amherst 2020
Section Webmaster: Richard Edward Adams, Kent State University 2025

Section Council

Karen T. Van Gundy, University of New Hampshire 2021

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership