American Sociological Association

Sociology of Development

The Sociology of Development Section of ASA promotes work in sociology on the causes and effects of development. We support work in all geographical regions including the United States, other advanced industrial nations and the Global South. We are open to work of all theoretical orientations and all methodological orientations. Both theoretical and applied work is welcome.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Jennifer Keahey, Arizona State University 2020
Chair-Elect: Matthew R. Sanderson, Kansas State University 2020
Past Chair: Andrew K. Jorgenson, Boston College 2020
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Jennifer YJ Hsu, University of New South Wales 2021
Student Representative: Alvin Camba, Johns Hopkins University 2020
Section Webmaster: Michaela Kathleen Curran, University of California-Riverside 2021

Section Council

Kristy Kelly, Columbia University/Drexel University 2020
Poulami Roychowdhury, McGill University 2020
Margaret Frye, University of Michigan 2021
Joseph A. Harris, Boston University 2021
Jordanna Chris Matlon, American University 2022
Victoria Reyes, University of California, Riverside 2022

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership