American Sociological Association

Section on Sociology of Development

Sociology of Development 2020 Award Nominations Calls


The Sociology of Development section of the American Sociological Association invites nominations for three awards recognizing outstanding scholarship in the area of the sociology of development: Book Award, Faculty Article Award, and Graduate Student Paper Award.

Sociology of Development Section Book Award


All books published in 2018 or 2019 are eligible. A brief letter of nomination (self-nominations are welcome) and a copy of the nominated book should be sent to EACH of the committee members listed below by March 1, 2020. In accordance with ASA policy, all award nominees must be current members of the association in order to be considered.

Chair: Kristy Kelly, Drexel University
537 Penn Street
Bethlehem, PA 18018
USA

Email: kek72@drexel.edu


Committee Member: Meghan Kallman
93 Capwell Ave
Pawtucket, RI 02860
USA

Email: Meghan.Kallman@umb.edu

Committee Member: Firuzeh Shokooh Valle
419 S 45th St Apt 5
Philadelphia, PA 19104
USA

Email: firuzeh.shokoohvalle@fandm.edu


Committee Member: George K. Danns
3820 Mundy Mill Road
Oakwood, GA. 30566
USA

Email: george.danns@ung.edu


Committee Member: Anne Mook
American University of Sharjah
Department of International Studies
P.O. 26666, Sharjah
United Arab Emirates

Email: acmook@ufl.edu


Sociology of Development Section Faculty Article Award

Please send a letter of nomination and an electronic version of the article to EACH of the committee members listed below by March 1, 2020. If the article has been published, the copyright date must be 2018 or 2019. However, unpublished articles are also welcome and self-nominations are encouraged. In accordance with ASA policy, all award nominees must be current members of the association in order to be considered.

Chair: Poulami Roychowdhury <poulami.roychowdhury@mcgill.ca>
Department of Sociology
McGill University


Committee Member: Bandana Purkayastha <bandana.purkayastha@uconn.edu>
Department of Sociology
University of Connecticut


Committee Member: Zach Levenson <zachary.levenson@uncg.edu>
Department of Sociology
University of North Carolina, Greensboro


Committee Member: Heidi Rademacher <hrademacher@brockport.edu>
Sociology
SUNY-Brockport


Committee Member: Tom VanHuevelen <tvanheuv@umn.edu>
Department of Sociology
University of Minnesota


Sociology of Development Section Graduate Student Paper Award


Please send a letter of nomination and an electronic version of the article to EACH of the committee members listed below by March 1, 2020. If the article has been published, the copyright date must be 2018 or 2019. However, unpublished articles are also welcome and self-nominations are encouraged. The author must be a graduate student who has not received the PhD by March 1, 2020. For co-authored papers, all authors must be graduate students. In accordance with ASA policy, all award nominees must be current members of the association in order to be considered.

Chair: Jordanna Matlon <jcmatlon@american.edu>
School of International Service
American University


Committee Member: Alvin Camba <acamba1@jhu.edu>
Department of Sociology
The Johns Hopkins University


Committee Member: Holly Reed <Holly.Reed@qc.cuny.edu>
Department of Sociology
Queens College, CUNY


Committee Member: Steven Schmidt <seschmid@uci.edu>
Department of Sociology
University of California, Irvine


Committee Member: Barbara Wejnert <bwejnert@gmail.com>
Political Sociology
College of Arts and Sciences
University at Buffalo, SUNY