American Sociological Association

Section on Racial and Ethnic Minorities



Please send all announcements to share with SREM members to


Per ASA policy, to have academic jobs advertised here they have to be listed in the ASA job bank. With your emails please include the ASA job bank ID number.



Oliver Cromwell Cox Book Award



Karida Brown, Gone Home: Race and Roots through Appalachia. University of North Carolina Press. 


Freeden Blume Oeur, Black Boys Apart: Racial Uplift and Respectability in All-Male Public Schools. University of Minnesota Press.


Oliver Cromwell Cox Book Award Committee: Victor Ray (Chair), Shantel Buggs, Carina Bandhauer, Natasha Warikoo


Oliver Cromwell Cox Article Award



Elizabeth Korver-Glenn. 2018. Compounding Inequalities: How Racial Stereotypes and Discrimination Accumulate across the Stages of Housing Exchange. American Sociological Review 83(4): 627–656. 


Jennifer C. Mueller. 2017. Producing Colorblindness: Everyday Mechanisms of White Ignorance. Social Problems 64: 219–238.


Oliver Cromwell Cox Article Award Committee: Sarah Mayorga-Gallo (Chair), Isabel Ayala, Marcelo Bohrt, SunAh Laybourn, Ellis Monk


2019 James E. Blackwell Graduate Student Paper Award


Alfredo Huante, “A Lighter Shade of Brown? Racial Formation and Gentrification in Latino Los Angeles" Forthcoming in Social Problems.


Honorable Mention: 

Shannon Malone Gonzalez, Samantha J. Simon, and Katie K. Rogers. “The Diversity Officer: A Comparative Analysis of the Diversity Solution to Legal Cynicism.”


James E. Blackwell Graduate Student Paper Award Committee: San Juanita García (Chair), W. Carson Byrd, John Eason, Belisa Gonzalez, Aaron Gullickson, Yung-Yi Diana Pan


2019 Joe Feagin Distinguished Undergraduate Student Paper Award


Savannah Scott, Southwestern University, “Medically Policing Black Female Bodies: Black Women’s Experiences with Birth Control in Austin, Texas”


Joe Feagin Distinguished Undergraduate Student Paper Award Committee: Jennifer C. Mueller (Chair), Jonathan Cox, Alan Grigsby, Marcelle Medford, Kevin Zevallos


Founder's Award for Scholarship & Service


Nazli Kibria, Boston University


Founder’s Award for Scholarship & Service Committee: Saher Selod (Chair), Jean Beaman, Catherine Lee, Ranita