American Sociological Association

Section on International Migration

2019 International Migration Section Call for Awards Nominations

Thomas & Znaniecki Award
This award is given annually for outstanding social science scholarship in the field of international migration to a book published within the previous 2 years. For the 2019 award, books must bear the publishing date of 2017 or 2018. Books must be nominated by a member of the International Migration Section, including self-nomination, but not by the publisher alone. A book awarded “honorable mention” in a previous year is ineligible for the award in subsequent years. Nominations consist of a written statement by the member proposing consideration of the book for the award. Arrangements must be made with the publisher to send the nominated book to all committee members (to their mailing addresses below) by April 1, 2019:
Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo,1972 Fletcher Ave. South Pasadena, CA 91030

Sofya Aptekar, 674 Vanderbilt Street #1 Brooklyn, NY 11218
Walter Nicholls, 4843 Algona Ave. Los Angeles, CA 90041

Louis Wirth Best Article Award
The award may be given annually to the outstanding article written by member(s) of the International Migration section published during the preceding two years (2017 or 2018). Papers must be nominated by a member of the International Migration section, including self-nominations. Nominations will be evaluated by the Best Article Award committee. A nomination letter, abstract, and electronic version of the article should be sent to all committee members by April 1, 2019.
Maria Abascal,

Anju Mary Paul,
Emily Ryo,

Aristide Zolberg Distinguished Student Scholar Award
Students from any discipline may submit papers about any topic related to international migration broadly conceived. At the time of submission, the submitter must be a graduate student. Unpublished papers are encouraged. Papers must be single authored and no more than 10,000 words, including the abstract and references. Only one paper per student may be nominated. A student who is a member of the International Migration section may self-nominate the paper. A student who is not a member of the International Migration Section must be nominated by an IM section member. A cover letter, abstract, and copy of the paper should be sent via email to all committee members by April 1, 2019.
Tiffany Joseph,                            

Edelina Burciaga,
Yader R. Lanuza,

Award for Public Sociology in International Migration
This award recognizes the work of IM section members that addresses immigration and related issues in ways that apply scholarly knowledge directly in public work, generate such knowledge for public use, or otherwise contribute to improving the lives of migrants or refugees. This prize recognizes the value of such applied work, and seeks to promote it. "Public work" is broadly understood, but can include policy making, work with community organizations, advocates, or a government agency, or a university, or public debate. Members may be nominated by a letter or email or other written communication from a scholar or community member familiar with their work, with a packet of supporting documents, as applicable. Packets should be submitted to all members of the Prize Committee by April 1, 2019.
Phil Kasinitz,

Pallavi Banerjee, 
Veronica Terriquez,

Distinguished Career Award 
The award recognizes exceptional achievement and a lifetime of scholarly contribution to the field of the sociology of international migration. The letter of nomination should include a statement of the lasting significance of the research conducted by the nominated scholar over the course of his or her career. The nomination should also include a copy of the scholar's curriculum vitae, and an assurance that the nominee has given his or her permission for the nomination of the award. To be eligible for the Distinguished Career Award, scholars must be members of the American Sociological Association and the International Migration section at the time the award is received (though not required at the time of nomination). IM section officers and members of its Council are not eligible to be nominated while they are in office. All nominated candidates will remain active for two rounds of the award. Nominations will be evaluated by the Distinguished Career Award committee. Please send your nomination letters along with supporting material via email to all members of the committee by April 1, 2019
Cecilia Menjívar,

David FitzGerald,
Rubén Hernández-León,


The following persons have been awarded the International Migration Section Distinguished Career Award in previous years: 2018 Andreas Wimmer, 2017 Min Zhou, 2016 Mary Waters, 2015 Pierette Hondagneu-Sotelo, 2014 Rubén G. Rumbaut, 2012 Pyong Gap Min and Roger Waldinger, 2011 Frank D. Bean, 2010 Nancy Foner, 2009 Douglas S. Massey, 2008 Richard D. Alba, 2005 Edna Bonacich and Lydio Tomasi, 2004 Herbert Gans and Nathan Glazer, 2003 Tamotsu Shibutani, 2002 Milton Gordon, 2000 Ivan Light, 1998 Alejandro Portes