American Sociological Association

Section on Inequality, Poverty, and Mobility

Inequality, Poverty, and Mobility Award Nominations Calls


Robert Hauser & William Julius Wilson Career Awards

The Hauser award is awarded annually to mark and celebrate the field’s most fundamental accomplishments. The Wilson award is awarded annually to recognize a scholar who has made major contributions early in his/her career. Persons who received their highest degree within the previous ten years (i.e. 2010-present) shall be eligible to receive the Wilson award.

Please send nomination letters and a CV of the candidate via email to the chair.
Alexandra Killewald (chair), Harvard University (killewald@fas.harvard.edu)
Arthur Alderson, Indiana University (aralders@indiana.edu)
Jane McLeod, Indiana University (jmcleod@indiana.edu)
Vincent Roscigno, The Ohio State University (roscigno.1@osu.edu)
Edward Telles, University of California, Santa Barbara (etelles@soc.ucsb.edu)


Devah Pager Outstanding Article Award

This is awarded annually for an article nominated by a section member and published in 2019.

Please send brief nomination letters and a pdf copy of the article to each and all committee members.
Amy Hsin (chair), Queens College, CUNY (hsin.amy@gmail.com)
Dustin Avent-Holt, Augusta University (DAVENTHO@augusta.edu)
Paula England, New York University (pe22@nyu.edu)
Andrew Fullerton, Oklahoma State University (andrew.fullerton@okstate.edu)
Marco Giesselmann, University of Zurich (giesselmann@soziologie.uzh.ch)
Matthew Mahutga, University of California, Riverside (mattm@ucr.edu)
Sarah Thebaud, University of California, Santa Barbara (sthebaud@ucsb.edu)


Outstanding Book Award

This is awarded annually for a book nominated by a section member and published in the years 2017, 2018, or 2019.

Please send brief nomination letters and copies of the book to each and all committee members.
Emily Rauscher (chair), Brown University
Brown University
Box 1916
Providence, RI 02912

Julie Kmec, Washington State University
225 SE Jackson St
Pullman WA 99163-4020

Nathan Martin, Arizona State University
School of Social Transformation
Arizona State University
240 E Orange Mall
PO Box 876403
Tempe, AZ 85287-6403

Jake Rosenfeld, Washington University at St. Louis
Department of Sociology
Washington University-St. Louis
Campus Box 1112
Seigle Hall
1 Brookings Drive
St. Louis, MO 63130

Heike Solga, WZB Berlin Social Science Center
WZB (Berlin Social Science Center)
Reichpietschufer 50
10785 Berlin
Germany

Jenny Stuber, University of North Florida
4325 South Bend Cir W
Jacksonville FL 32207

Bruce Western, Columbia University
Knox Hall
606 West 122nd Street
5th Floor, Suite 501
New York, NY 10027


Graduate Student Paper Award

This is awarded annually for a graduate student paper presented at a professional conference or published during 2019, and nominated by a section member.

Please send brief nomination letters and a pdf copy of the article to each and all committee members.
Michelle Maroto (chair), University of Alberta (maroto@ualberta.ca)
Siwei Cheng, New York University (siwei.cheng@nyu.edu)
James Chu, Stanford University (jchu1225@stanford.edu)
Natasha Quadlin, The Ohio State University (quadlin.2@osu.edu)
Michael Wallace, University of Connecticut (michael.wallace@uconn.edu)
Katherine Weisshar, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (weisshaar@unc.edu)