American Sociological Association

Economic Sociology Award Nominations Calls

Economic Sociology Award Nominations Calls

Zelizer Award for Best Book:

The Economic Sociology Section invites nominations for the 2021 Zelizer Book Award for an outstanding book published in the field of economic sociology. Eligible books must have a 2019 or 2020 publication date. Authors are welcome to nominate their own work. Nominees must already be Section members or must join the Section. To nominate a book, please send a hard copy of the book to all five committee members listed below by March 16, 2021. Letters of nomination are not required from ASA members. Publishers who wish to submit a book for consideration must include a nomination letter that states how the book contributes to economic sociology. Please direct any inquiries to Nathan Wilmers: wilmers@mit.edu.

Committee Members:

Nathan Wilmers, Chair 
wilmers@mit.edu

Sarah Quinn 
slquinn@uw.edu

Oyman Basaran
obasaran@bowdoin.edu

Lyn Spillman
spillman.1@nd.edu
 

Granovetter Award for Best Article

The Economic Sociology Section invites nominations for the 2020 Granovetter Prize for an outstanding article published in the field of economic sociology. Eligible publications must have a 2019 or 2020 publication date. Authors are encouraged to nominate their own work. Letters of nomination are not required. Stand-alone chapters from edited volumes are eligible for this award. Nominees must already be Section members or must join the Section. An electronic copy should be sent no later than March 16, 2020 to all members of the Granovetter Award Committee. Please direct any inquiries to Adam Goldstein: amg5@princeton.edu.

Committee Members:

Adam Goldstein, Chair
amg5@princeton.edu

András Tilcsik
tilcsik@gmail.com

Jing Shen
jing.shen@mzes.uni-mannheim.de

Victoria Reyes
vreyes@ucr.edu
 

Burt Best Student Paper Award

The Economic Sociology Section invites nominations for the 2021 Ronald Burt Outstanding Student Paper Award for a paper written by a graduate student in the field of economic sociology. Papers may be either published or unpublished, but must have been authored by students who have not received their Ph.D. by March 16, 2021. Students are encouraged to nominate their own work. Letters of nomination are not required. Nominees must already be Section members or must join the Section. Papers co-authored with faculty are not eligible for the Burt award. Electronic copies of the paper should be sent no later than March 16, 2021 to all members of the Burt Award Committee. Please direct any inquiries to Elena Obukhova: elena.obukhova@mcgill.ca.

Committee Members:

Elena Obukhova, Chair
elena.obukhova@mcgill.ca

Ken-Hou Lin
lin@austin.utexas.edu

Aaron Horvath
ahorvath@stanford.edu
 

Best Student Paper in Economic Sociology and Entrepreneurship

The Economic Sociology Section invites nominations for a new travel award for the Best Student Paper in Economic Sociology and Entrepreneurship, awarded to a paper written by a graduate student on the topic of entrepreneurship, broadly defined, and accepted by the Economic Sociology Section for presentation at a session or roundtable. Papers that address pressing economic and/or social problems and possess practical implications are particularly welcome. Thanks to a sponsorship from the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, ESS would normally give up to two travel awards per year of $1,500 to qualified graduate students to cover the cost of attending the ASA conference along with recognition of the receipt of the award at the annual conference. Not clear what we will do this year! Papers may be either published or unpublished, but must have been authored by students who have not received their Ph.D. by April 10, 2020. Students are encouraged to nominate their own work. Letters of nomination are not required. Nominees must already be Section members or must join the Section. Applicants must have no current existing financial relationship with the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation. Papers co-authored with faculty are not eligible for this award. Electronic copies of the paper should be sent no later than April 10, 2021 to: Chris Yenkey: cyenkey@moore.sc.edu.