American Sociological Association

2021 Community and Urban Sociology Award Nomination Call

2021 Community and Urban Sociology Award Nomination Call

All submissions must be received by March 1, 2021 and award winners will be notified by June 30, 2021. 

 

Community and Urban Sociology Section’s Robert E. Park Award

This award goes to the author(s) of the best book published in the previous 2 years (2019/2020). Please send nomination or self-nomination letters to the award committee co-chairs via email. Also, mail (or email) a hard copy (or electronic version) of the book to each committee member.

Committee co-chair: Scott Frickel (Brown University) 
75 Vassar Ave., Providence, RI 02906
scott_frickel@brown.edu

Committee co-chair: Jim Elliott, Jr. (Rice University) 
395 Hopi Place, Boulder, CO 80303
jre5@rice.edu

Jaleh Jalili (Rice University)
2437 South Blvd., Apt. 12, Houston, TX 77098
jaleh.jalili@rice.edu

Ray Hutchison (University Wisconsin, Green Bay)
1767 East Shore Drive, Green Bay, WI 54302
hutchr@uwgb.edu

Jeffrey Parker (University of New Orleans)
1227 St. Roch Ave., Unit A, New Orleans, LA 70117
jnparker@uno.edu

 

Community and Urban Sociology Section’s Jane Addams Article Award

The Jane Addams Award (formerly the Park Article Award) goes to author(s) of the best scholarly article in community and urban sociology published in the previous 2 years (2019/2020). Please send nomination or self-nomination letters and publications to the award committee chair via email.

Committee chair: Jackie Hwang (Stanford University), jihwang@stanford.edu
Members: Youbin Kang (University of Wisconsin, Madison), youbin.kang@wisc.edu
Mahesh Somashekhar (University of Illinois, Chicago), msoma@uic.edu
Emily Yen (Trinity College), emilyhelenyen@gmail.com
 

Community and Urban Sociology Graduate Student Paper Award

The CUSS Student Paper award goes to the student author of the paper the committee regards as the best graduate student paper in community and urban sociology. Please send nomination or self-nomination letters and publications to the award committee chair via email.

Committee chair: Brian McCabe (Georgetown University), mccabeb@georgetown.edu
Members: Amy Spring (Georgia State University), aspring@gsu.edu
Jake Carlson (University of Wisconsin, Madison), hjcarlson@wisc.edu
Shani Evans (Swarthmore College), sevans4@swarthmore.edu

 

Community and Urban Sociology Section’s Robert and Helen Lynd Award for Lifetime Achievement

This award recognizes distinguished career achievement in community and urban sociology. Please send nomination letters to the award committee chair via email.

Committee chair: Barry Lee (Pennsylvania State University), bal6@psu.edu
Members: Forrest Stuart (Stanford University), fstuart@stanford.edu
Max Besbris (University of Wisconsin, Madison), besbris@wisc.edu
Barry Wellman (University of Toronto), wellman@chass.utoronto.ca
 

Community and Urban Sociology Section's Publicly Engaged Scholar Award 

This award recognizes community and urban sociologists who use their research to make significant and meaningful contributions to public debates, public policy, and/or communities. Please send nomination or self-nomination letters to the award committee chair via email.

Committee chair: Jan Lin (Occidental College), jlin@oxy.edu
Members: Gregory Squires (George Washington University), squires@gwu.edu
Zachary Levenson (University of North Carolina, Greensboro), zblevens@uncg.edu
Jacob Lederman (University of Michigan, Flint), jaclede@umich.edu