American Sociological Association

Section on Communication, Information Technologies, and Media Sociology

Communication, Information Technology, and Media Sociology Award Nomination Calls

CITAMS William F. Ogburn Mid-Career Achievement Award

This award recognizes a sustained body of research by a scholar who has provided an outstanding contribution to the advancement of knowledge in the areas relevant to the section. If you would like to nominate a scholar for the award, please send a nomination letter via email to the following committee members by March 15, 2020:

  • Deana A. Rohlinger (Chair)  drohling@fsu.edu
  • Eszter Hargittai e.hargittai@ipmz.uzh.ch
  • Apryl Williams williamsaa@susqu.edu  

Best Paper Award

This award recognizes an outstanding published paper or book chapter on a topic relevant to the section. Submissions must be in English and published within the two calendar years prior to the award nomination deadline. If you would like to nominate a paper for the award, please send a nomination letter and a copy of the paper via email to the following committee members by March 15, 2020:

  • Dustin Kidd (Chair) dkidd@temple.edu
  • Jim Witte jwitte@gmu.edu 
  • Matt Rafalow mrafalow@google.com  

Best Student Paper Award

This award recognizes an outstanding published or unpublished paper/book chapter on a topic relevant to the section, or an outstanding design or use of media, communication, or information technology. Submissions must be in English. If you would like to nominate a paper for the award, please send a nomination letter and a copy of the paper via email to the following committee members by March 15, 2020:

  • Anabel Quan-Haase (Chair) aquan@uwo.ca 
  • Matt Rafalow mrafalow@google.com  
  • Devika Narain naray116@umn.edu

Best Book Award

This award recognizes an outstanding book on a topic relevant to a topic of the sections. Submissions must be in English and published within the two calendar years prior to the award nomination deadline. If you would like to nominate a book for the award, please send a nomination letter via email to the committee members. Copies of the book need to be mailed to and received by each of the committee members on or before March 15, 2020. 

  • Sarah Sobieraj (Chair) SARAH.SOBIERAJ@tufts.edu

     Department of Sociology

    Tufts University

    Eaton Hall

    Medford, MA 02155

  • Jeffrey Lane jeffrey.lane@rutgers.edu 

    Department of Communication 

   Rutgers University New Brunswick

   4 Huntington Street

   New Brunswick, NJ 08901

  • Timothy Recuber trecuber@smith.edu ​​​​​​​

    Department of Sociology

    Smith College

    203 Wright Hall

   Northampton, MA 01063

Public Sociology Award

This award recognizes a specific achievement in teaching, the development or the use of a communication, media, or information technology, or the dissemination of knowledge that advances public understanding or engagement on topics of concern in the section. If you would like to nominate a scholar for the award, please send a nomination letter via email to the following committee members by March 15, 2020:

  • Andrew Lindner (Chair) alindner@skidmore.edu
  • Joseph Cohen  joseph.n.cohen@gmail.com​
  • Sam Scovill sscovill@email.arizona.edu