American Sociological Association

Section on Altruism, Morality, and Social Solidarity

Altruism, Morality, and Social Solidarity Award Nominations Calls

Distinguished Career Award

DEADLINE: 3/1/2020
Awarded to an individual who has made a number of significant contributions to the study of altruism, morality, and/or solidarity over an extended period of time. The Distinguished Career Award is intended to recognize a senior scholar’s cumulative achievements. Please direct any inquiries to the committee chair, Steve Hitlin. Please email nomination materials to all members of the committee at:

Committee:
Steve Hitlin (Chair), University of Iowa, steven-hitlin@uiowa.edu
Lori Peek, University of Colorado Boulder, lori.peek@colorado.edu
Gary Adler, Penn State University, gary.adler@psu.edu 

Outstanding Published Book Award

DEADLINE: 3/1/2020
Awarded to the author(s) of a theoretical analysis, research monograph, or reader published in the last 5 years that increases knowledge and understanding of altruism, morality, and/or solidarity. Please direct any inquiries to the committee chair, Iddo Tavory. Please send materials to all members of the committee at:

Committee:
Iddo Tavory (Chair)
New York University
Department of Sociology
295 Lafayette Street
4th Floor
New York University
New York, NY 10012
iddo.tavory@nyu.edu

Amy Kroska
University of Oklahoma
Department of Sociology
331 Kaufman Hall
Norman, OK 73019
amykroska@ou.edu

Jeffrey Guhin
University of California, Los Angeles
Department of Sociology
264 Haines Hall
375 Portola Plaza
Los Angeles, CA 90095
guhin@soc.ucla.edu

Outstanding Published Article Award 

DEADLINE: 3/1/2020
Awarded to the author(s) of a theoretical or research article published in the last 3 years that increases knowledge and understanding of altruism, morality, and/or solidarity. Please direct any inquiries to the committee chair, Penny Edgell. Please email an electronic copy of the article and supporting materials to all members the committee at:

Committee:
Penny Edgell (Chair), University of Minnesota, edgell@umn.edu
Mary Rose, University of Texas Austin, mrose@austin.utexas.edu
Tom Rotolo, Washington State University, rotolo@wsu.edu

Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award

DEADLINE: 3/1/2020
Awarded to the author(s) of a theoretical or research paper that increases knowledge and understanding of altruism, morality, and/or solidarity and has been (a) presented, or accepted for presentation, at a regional, national, or international professional meeting during the two preceding calendar years, or (b) published, or submitted for publication, in a journal during the two preceding calendar years. Authors of eligible papers must be graduate students at the time of the papers submission. Multiple authored papers are eligible for the award if all authors are graduate students. Please direct any inquiries to the committee chair, Jennifer Glanville. Please email nomination materials to all members of the committee at:

Committee:
Jennifer Glanville (Chair), jennifer-glanville@uiowa.edu
Kelly Bergstrand, University of Texas Arlington, kelly.bergstrand@uta.edu
Jonathan Coley, Oklahoma State University, jonathan.s.coley@okstate.edu