American Sociological Association

Peace, War, and Social Conflict

The purpose of the Section on Peace and War is to encourage the application of sociological methods, theories, and perspectives to the study of peace and war.

Annual Report (2020)
Award Recipients 

Section Council 

Chair: Jeff Goodwin, New York University
Chair-Elect: Laura J. Heideman, Northern Illinois University
Past Chair: Steven Carlton-Ford, University of Cincinnati
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Scott D. Landes, Syracuse University
Amanda Ball, Brown University (Student Representative)
Marie E. Berry, University of Denver
Michelle I. Gawerc, Loyola University Maryland
Lisa Hajjar, University of California-Santa Barbara
Ann Mische, University of Notre Dame
Eric Schoon, Ohio State University
Ori Swed, Texas Tech University

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership