American Sociological Association

Inequality, Poverty, and Mobility

The purpose of the Section on Inequality, Poverty, and Mobility is to foster research and disseminate knowledge on the distribution of material and nonmaterial resources, and the economic, social, and cultural forces that generate and perpetuate unequal distributions of these resources. The Section welcomes members of all theoretical and methodological persuasions and embraces work that considers inequalities in all institutions and social contexts.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: David Brady, University of California, Riverside 2020
Chair-Elect: Claudia Buchmann, Ohio State University 2020
Past Chair: Florencia Torche, Stanford University 2020
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Ann Owens, University of Southern California 2020

Section Council

Alexandra A. Killewald, Harvard University 2020
Fabian T. Pfeffer, University of Michigan 2020
Siwei Cheng, New York University 2021
Emily Rauscher, Brown University 2021
Amy Hsin, Queens College, CUNY 2022
Michelle Lee Maroto, University of Alberta 2022

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership