American Sociological Association

Disability in Society

The Section aims to strengthen the theoretical and methodological aspects of Disability and Society Studies.

Annual Report (2020)
Award Recipients 

Section Council

Chair: Carrie L. Shandra, Stony Brook University
Chair-Elect: Linda M. Blum, Northeastern University
Past Chair: Tom Gerschick, Illinois State University
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Robyn Lewis Brown, University of Kentucky
Section Secretary/Treasurer-Elect: Kenzie Latham-Mintus, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Jennifer D. Brooks, Syracuse University (Student Representative)
Scott D. Landes, Syracuse University

Committee Leadership

Program Director: Michelle Lee Maroto, University of Alberta
Award Committee Chair: Sara E. Green, University of South Florida
Membership Committee Chair: Justine Egner, University of Wisconsin La Crosse
Nominations Committee Chair: Dara Shifrer, Portland State University
Publicity Committee Chair: Tara Fannon, NUIG

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership