American Sociological Association

Community and Urban Sociology

Members of the Section on Community and Urban Sociology explore new social theory and develop empirical research on groups living, working, and communicating across geographical boundaries, including cities, suburbs, and rural areas, as well as electronic communities and other spaces.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Japonica Brown-Saracino, Boston University 2020
Chair-Elect: Derek S. Hyra, American University 2020
Past Chair: Rachel E. Dwyer, Ohio State University 2020
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Mary J. Fischer, University of Connecticut 2020
Section Memb Cmte Chair: Victoria Reyes, University of California, Riverside 2020
Section Membership Committee Member: Brandi Thompson Summers, University of California, Berkeley 2022
Section Membership Committee Member: Juan R. Martinez, Northeastern Illinois University 2022
Publications Committee: Robert M. Adelman, State University of New York-Buffalo 2020
Publications Committee: Rachael A. Woldoff, West Virginia University 2021
Publications Committee: Marcus Anthony Hunter, University of California-Los Angeles 2021
Publications Committee: Krista E. Paulsen, Boise State University 2021
Publications Committee: Ryan Centner, London School of Economics 2022
Publications Committee: John N. Robinson, III, Washington University in St Louis 2022
Student Representative: Kyle Galindez, University of California - Santa Cruz 2020

Section Council

LaShawnDa L. Pittman, University of Washington 2020
Ernesto CastaƱeda, American University 2020
Alexandra K. Murphy, University of Michigan 2021
Zaire Z. Dinzey-Flores, Rutgers University 2021
Jean Beaman, University of California, Santa Barbara 2022
Richard E. Ocejo, John Jay College and the Graduate Center, CUNY 2022

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership