American Sociological Association

Communication, Information Technologies, and Media Sociology

The purpose of the Section on Communications, Information Technologies and Media Sociology is to support, enhance and promote research, teaching and other professional activities related to:

  • The social aspects of computing, the Internet, new media, computer networks, and other communication and information technologies.
  • The Sociology of Communications.
  • The design and use of technology in teaching and research.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Anabel Quan-Haase, University of Western Ontario 2020
Chair-Elect: Sarah Sobieraj, Tufts University 2020
Past Chair: Deana Rohlinger, Florida State University 2020
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Dustin Kidd, Temple University 2021
Section Nominations Committee Member: Andrew M. Lindner, Skidmore College 2020
Section Nominations Committee Member: Jeffrey Lane, Rutgers University 2021
Section Nominations Committee Member: Shantel Gabrieal Buggs, Florida State University 2022

Section Council

Timothy Recuber, Smith College 2020
Apryl A. Williams, Harvard University 2020
James C. Witte, George Mason University 2021
Matt Rafalow, Google 2021

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership