American Sociological Association

Sociological Practice and Public Sociology Section Awards Recipients History

The Section on Sociological Practice and Public Sociology's Publication Award for Significant Contributions to Applied and Public Sociology

2019: Tim O’Brien and Oren Pizmony-Levy

2018: Dr. Christopher Uggen and Ryan Larson, University of Minnesota, and Dr. Sarah Shannon, University of Georgia, “6 Million Lost Voters: State-Level Estimates of Felony Disenfranchisement, 2016,” The Sentencing Project. 2016.


The Section on Sociological Practice and Public Sociology's Robert Dentler Student Practitioner Award

2018: Melissa Osborne, University of Chicago

2017: Amanda McMillan LeQuieu, University of Wisconsin, Madison 

2017: Michael Gibson-Light, University of Arizona

2016: Elizabeth Becke, Yale University

2016: Landon Schnabel, Indiana University

2015: Marisa C. Allison, George Mason University

2015: Ben Merriman, University of Chicago

2014: David Ciplet, Brown University

2014: Amanda Freeman, Boston College

2012: Oren Pizmony-Levy, Indiana University

2012: Kathleen “Casey” Oberlin, Indiana University

2012: Michelle Lueck, Colorado State University

2010: Esteban Calvo, Natalia Sarkisian, Harvard School of Public Health and Boston College, "Retirement and Well-being: Examining the Characteristics of Life Course Transitions"

2010: Charles Varner and Cristobal Young, Princeton University, "Millionaire Migration and the State Taxation of Top Incomes: Evidence from New Jersey," National Tax Journal 64(2):255-284. 2011.

2009: Lou Jacobson, Redwood Coast Energy Authority, “Anthropogenic Carbon Dioxide Mitigation: The Social Barriers to the Diffusion of the Compact Fluorescent Light Bulb”

2008: Becky Hsu, Princeton University

2007: Darren Noy, Principles for "Organic Public Sociology: Reflections on Publicly Engaged Research in the San Francisco Homeless Policy Field," Societies Without Borders 2(2):260-272. 2007.

2006: Antoinette Swayne-Kohlman, Alliant International University

2005: Delores A. Edelen, University of Central Florida

2004: Nancy Wong, University of Massachusetts, Boston

2002: Kirsten Sletten, St. Cloud State University

2001: Emily Sama Martin, University of Pennsylvania, “Making Ends Meet: Military vs. Civilian Employees”

1999: Megan Cross, University of San Diego

1998: Teri Kepner, Society for Applied Sociology

1996: Gary David, Wayne State University

1989: Shari Williams, Temple University

The Section on Sociological Practice and Public Sociology's William Foote Whyte Distinguished Career Award

This award was established in 1983. Name changed from Distinguished Contribution Award to William Foote Whyte Distinguished Contribution Award in 1996.

2019: Dr. Stacy Torres, University California San Francisco

2018: Dr. Nancy Lopez, University of New Mexico

2017: Angela Aidala, Mailman School of Public Health at Columbia University

2016: Jan Marie Fritz, University of Johannesburg

2015: Philip W. Nyden, Loyola University, Chicago

2014: Herbert Gans, Columbia University

2013: Rosabeth Moss Kanter, Harvard University

2012: Robert Groves, Georgetown University

2011: Leora Lawton

2011: Thomas Pettigrew

2010: Henry Steadman, Policy Research Associates, Inc.

2009: Dr. Kristin Moore, Child Trends

2008: J. Steven Picou, University of South Alabama

2007: Robert Bullard, Ware Professor of Sociology and Director of the Environmental Juistice Resource Center at Clark Atlanta University

2006: Barbara Altman, Distinguished Consultant Appointee as Special Assistant for Disability Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics

2005: Severyn Bruyn, Boston University

2004: Charles Vert Willie, Charles William Eliot Professor Emeritus of Education, Harvard University Graduate School of Education

2003: Judith A. Cook, University of Illinois, Chicago

2002: Julia Mayo, St. Vincent’s Catholic Medical Centers

2001: Stephen F. Steele, Anne Arudnel Community College and Applied Data Associates

2000: Lewis Yablonsky, California State University, Northridge

1999: Donald Light, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey

1998: Ross Koppel, University of Pennsylvania

1996: William Foote Whyte, Cornell University

1994: Ronnie J. Steinberg, Temple University and University of Delaware (visiting scholar)

1993: Robert Dentler, University of Massachusetts, Boston

1992: David J. Kallen, Michigan State University

1989: Albert Gollin, Newspaper Advertising Bureau

1987: Katrina Johnson, National Institutes of Health

1986: Arthur B. Shostak, Drexel University

1985: Anne Knettles McCarrick, Department of Family Practice, Medical College of Virginia

1983: Jack Riley and Matilda White Riley, National Institutes of Health

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership