American Sociological Association

ASA 2019 Elections

The American Sociological Association is pleased to announce the 2019 slate of candidates for ASA Officers, Council, Committee on Committees, Committee on Nominations, and Committee on Publications. Ballots for the 2019 ASA election will be distributed to eligible members in April 2019. Ballots will be sent out via email from "" Please add this e-mail address to the permitted senders list on your spam filter to ensure timely delivery of your ballot. Voting will close at 5 p.m. eastern on Friday, May 31, 2019. 

President-Elect (Vote for 1; elected will serve from August 2019 to August 2022)

              Shelley J. Correll, Stanford University
              Aldon Morris, Northwestern University     

Vice President-Elect (Vote for 1; elected will serve from August 2019 to August 2022)

              Jennifer Earl, University of Arizona
              Rhacel Salazar Parreñas, University of Southern California    

Council Members-at-Large (Vote for 4; elected will serve from August 2019 to August 2022)

              Ruha Benjamin, Princeton University
              Chloe Bird, RAND Corporation
              Waverly Duck, University of Pittsburgh
              Jessica Fields, San Francisco State University
              Laura Hamilton, University of California, Merced
              Maria Krysan, University of Illinois at Chicago
              Jane McLeod, Indiana University
              Vincent Roscigno, Ohio State University                                       

Committee on Committees                                   

Members-at-Large (Vote for 2; elected will serve from June 2019 to December 2020)

              Arthur Alderson, Indiana University
              Douglas Downey, Ohio State University
              Tyrone Forman, University of Illinois at Chicago
              Melissa Wooten, University of Massachusetts Amherst

MA and 4-year Institution (Vote for 1; elected will serve from June 2019 to December 2020)

              Kara Cebulko, Providence College
              Simón Weffer-Elizondo, Northern Illinois University                  

2-Year Institution (Vote for 1; elected will serve from June 2019 to December 2020)

              Virginia D'Antonio, Northern Virginia Community College
              Katherine Rowell, Sinclair Community College                                                         

Committee on Nominations (Vote for 6; elected will serve from June 2019 to December 2020)

              Littisha A. Bates, University of Cincinnati
              Michelle Camacho, University of San Diego
              David Cunningham, Washington University in St. Louis
              Pawan Dhingra, Amherst College
              Francesco Duina, Bates College
              James Fenelon, California State University-San Bernardino
              Tanya Golash-Boza, University of California, Merced
              Kimberly Hoang, University of Chicago
              Daniel Laurison, Swarthmore College
              Katherine McClelland, Franklin and Marshall College
              Anthony Paik, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
              Wendy Roth, University of British Columbia           

Committee on Publications (Vote for 3; elected will serve from September 2019 to August 2022)

              Julia Adams, Yale University
              Dana Britton, Rutgers University
              Neal Caren, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
              Annulla Linders, University of Cincinnati
              Kristin Turney, University of California, Irvine
              Debra Umberson, The University of Texas at Austin


Additional candidates may be added via petition. Petitions supporting additional candidates for the offices of President-Elect, Vice President-Elect, and Secretary must be signed by at least 100 voting-eligible ASA members; additional candidates for other positions must be signed by at least 50 voting-eligible members. All petitions must be submitted by January 31, 2019. 

Regular, student, retired and life members are eligible to vote in all ASA-wide elections and in the elections for the sections in which they have membership. Associate, International Associate, and High School Teacher members are eligible to vote only in the section elections for which they have membership.  Membership must be active as of March 31, 2019 to receive a ballot. If you have any questions regarding the election, please email