American Sociological Association

Program Committee

The Program Committee for the ASA Annual Meeting usually consists of twelve people, four officers and eight appointed members, as outlined below. In years where there is a Secretary-Elect, that person shadows the Secretary and participates in Program Committee meetings.

President-Elect, Vice President-Elect, Secretary, Executive Officer, two carry-over members from the previous year's Program Committee, and six members nominated by the President-Elect and approved by ASA Council.

Each Program Committee plans only one Annual Meeting. The committee is constituted in August two years in advance of the meeting for which it is responsible, and it is charged with developing a timely program that will service the diverse discipline of sociology, enhance the meeting theme chosen by the President-Elect, and broaden participation by sociologists in the US and around the world.

Members of the Program Committee for the 2016 Annual Meeting

Ruth Milkman
President and
Committee Chair

City University of New York Graduate Center

Kathleen M. Blee
University of Pittsburgh

Aixa N. Cintron-Velez
Russell Sage Foundation

Peter Dreier
Occidental College

Celeste Watkins-Hayes
Northwestern University

Francesca Polletta
University of California-Irvine

Vincent J. Roscigno
The Ohio State University

Kristen Schilt
University of Chicago

Gay W. Seidman
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Mary Romero

Arizona State University

Barbara J. Risman
Vice President

University of Illinois at Chicago

Sally T. Hillsman
Executive Officer

American Sociological Association


AM 2016 Annual Reviews
AM 2016 DuBois Review
Socius Annual Meeting Ad
Guide Annual Meeting Ad
Communications Toolkit Annual Meeting Ad