American Sociological Association

W.E.B. Du Bois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award

Selection Criteria 

This award honors those ASA member scholars who have shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions. The award selection committee is particularly interested in ASA members whose work that substantially reorients the field in general or in a particular subfield.

Nomination Procedures 

Nominations should include a letter of nomination, a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae and five to seven letters of recommendation from a variety of individuals able to speak to the qualifications of the nominee. The person making the nomination should obtain this material and forward it to the committee, with the nominee's curriculum vitae, as a package. 

In addition to the nomination materials described above, complete and submit the required nomination form

Nominations can be considered for five years. However, nominations are not automatically renewed. Each year, nominators will be asked if they wish to renew their nominations for consideration. If a renewal is requested, nominators will be invited to submit updated information or additional materials and are required to respond again to the ethics question. 

Self-nominations are encouraged. All awardees must be current ASA members at the time of the award ceremony at the Annual Meeting.  One need not be a member to be nominated for an award. All nominators must be current members. 

Submit nominations for the 2021 award to by January 1, 2021

2021 Selection Committee Members

The selection committee is composed of nine members, each serving a staggered three-year term. Members are appointed from among the Association membership by the Council based on the recommendation of the Committee on Committees.

Jason Schnittker, Chair
Joyce Bell
Marlese Durr
Neil Gross
Jose Itzigsohn
Moon-Kie Jung
Omar Lizardo
Bruce Link
Lauren Rivera

Past Recipients

2020 - Aldon Morris 

2019 - Harvey L. Molotch

2018 - Elijah Anderson

2017 - Patricia Hill Collins

2016 - Glen H. Elder, Jr.

2015 - John W. Meyer

2014 - William Julius Wilson

2013 - Joe R. Feagin

2012 - William Gamson

2011 - Harrison C. White

2010 - Alejandro Portes

2009 - Sheldon Stryker

2008 - Barbara Reskin

2007 - Joseph Berger

2006 - Herbert Gans

2005 - Charles Tilly and Charles Willie

2004 - Arthur Stinchcombe

2003 - Immanuel Wallerstein

2002 - Gerhard E. Lenski

2001 - William Foote Whyte

2000 - Seymour Martin Lipset

1999 - Dorothy E. Smith

1998 - Howard S. Becker

1997 - William Hamilton Sewell

1996 - Peter M. Blau

1995 - Leo Goodman

1994 - Lewis A. Coser

1993 - Joan R. Acker

1992 - Daniel Bell

1991 - Mirra Komarovsky

1990 - Robin M. Williams, Jr.

1989 - Jessie Bernard

1988 - George C. Homans

1987 - Wilbert E. Moore

1986 - Edward A. Shils

1985 - Reinhard Bendix

1984 - Morris Janowitz

1983 - Herbert Blumer

1982 - Kingsley Davis

1981 - Everett C. Hughes

1980 - Robert K. Merton

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership