American Sociological Association

Jessie Bernard Award

Selection Criteria

The Jessie Bernard Award is given in recognition of scholarly work inclusive of research, teaching, mentoring, and service, that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology. It is presented for significant cumulative work done throughout a professional career that demonstrate broad scholarly impact. The award is open to people of all genders and is not restricted to sociologists.

Nomination Procedures

Nominations for career achievement should include a narrative letter of nomination, a copy of the vita of the nominee, and three letters of recommendation, signed and on letterhead.

In addition to the nomination materials described above, complete and submit the required nomination form

Nominations can be considered for five years. However, nominations are not automatically renewed. Each year, nominators will be asked if they wish to renew their nominations for consideration. If a renewal is requested, nominators will be invited to submit updated information or additional materials and are required to respond again to the ethics question. 

Self-nominations are encouraged. All awardees must be current ASA members at the time of the award ceremony at the Annual Meeting.  One need not be a member to be nominated for an award. All nominators must be current members.  

Submit nominations for the 2021 award to by January 1, 2021

2021 Selection Committee Members

The selection committee is composed of nine members, each serving a staggered three-year term. Members are appointed from among the Association membership by the Council based on the recommendation of the Committee on Committees.

Sara Crawley, Chair
Pallavi Banerjee
Kristen Barber
Japonica Brown-Saracino
Monica Casper
Ivy Ken
Tey Meadow
Tracy Ore
Carla Pfeffer

Past Recipients

2020 - Jennifer Glass

2019 Rhacel Salazar Parreñas

2019 - Bandana Purkayastha

2017Raewyn Connell 

2016 - Ronnie J. Steinberg 

2015 - Nancy A. Naples 

2014 - Esther Ngan-ling Chow 

2014 - Christine L. Williams 

2013 - Kathleen Gerson 

2012 - Michael A. Messner 

2011 - Verta Taylor 

2010 - Harriet Presser 

2009 - Cecilia Ridgeway 

2008 - Arlie Hochschild 

2007 - Patricia Yancey Martin 

2006 - Margaret Andersen 

2005 - Evelyn Nakano Glenn 

2004 - Myra Marx Ferree 

2003 - Cynthia Fuchs Epstein 

2002 - Barrie Thorne 

2001 - Barbara Laslett 

2000 - Maxine Baca Zinn 

1999 - Paula England 

1998 - Ruth A. Wallace

1997 - Nona Glazer, career; Robbie Pfeufer Kahn, Bearing Meaning: The Language of Birth (University of Illinois Press, 1995); Honorable Mention: Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo, Gendered Transitions: Mexican Experiences of Immigration (University of California Press, 1994)

1996 - Judith Lorber, career; Diane L. Wolf, Factory Daughters (University of California Press, 1992)

1995 - Arlene Kaplan Daniels, career; Ruth Frankenberg, White Women, Race Matters: The Social Construction of Whiteness (Minnesota); and Elizabeth Lapovsky Kennedy and Madeline D. Davis, Boots of Leather, Slippers of Gold: The History of A Lesbian Community (Routledge)

1993 - Dorothy E. Smith, career; Memphis State University Center for Research on Women (Bonnie Thornton Dill, Elizabeth Higginbotham, Lynn Weber) for significant collective work; and Patricia Hill Collins, Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment

1991 - Barbara Katz Rothman, Recreating Motherhood: Ideology and Technology in a Patriarchical Society (W.W. Norton & Co., 1989)

1989 - Joan Acker, career; Samuel R. Cohn, The Process of Occupational Sex Typing: The Feminization of Clerical Labor in Great Britain (Temple University Press, 1985); and Honorable Mention to Karen Brodkin Sacks, Caring by the Hour (University of Illinois Press)

1987 - Sandra Harding, The Science Question in Feminism (Cornell University Press, 1986); and Judith Rollins, Between Women: Domestics and Their Employers (Temple University Press, 1986)

1985 - Joan Huber, career; and Judith G. Stacey, Patriarchy and the Socialist Revolution in China

1983 - Alice S. Rossi, career

1981 - Elise Boulding, career

1979 - Valerie Kincaid Oppenheimer, The Female Labor Force in the United States: Demographic and Economic Factors Governing Its Growth and Changing Composition (University of California and Greenwood Press); Nancy Chodorow, The Reproduction of Mothering: Psychoanalysis and the Sociology of Gender (University of California Press); and Honorable Mention to Kristin Luker, Taking Chances: Abortion and the Decision Not to Contracept (University of California Press)

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership