American Sociological Association

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology

Selection Criteria and Eligibility

This award honors ASA members’ outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award may recognize work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others; work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as a whole; or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare. The recipient of this award will have spent at least a decade of full-time work involving research, administrative, or operational responsibilities as a member of or consultant to private or public organizations, agencies, or associations, or as a solo practitioner.

Nomination Procedures

Nominations should include a one to two-page nomination statement, the vita of the nominee, and 1-2 letters of recommendation. 

In addition to the nomination materials described above, complete and submit the required nomination form

Nominations can be considered for five years. However, nominations are not automatically renewed. Each year, nominators will be asked if they wish to renew their nominations for consideration. If a renewal is requested, nominators will be invited to submit updated information or additional materials and are required to respond again to the ethics question. 

Self-nominations are encouraged. All awardees must be current ASA members at the time of the award ceremony at the Annual Meeting.  One need not be a member to be nominated for an award. All nominators must be current members.  

Submit nominations for the 2021 award to by January 1, 2021

2021 Selection Committee Members

The selection committee is composed of nine members, each serving a staggered three-year term. Members are appointed from among the Association membership by the Council based on the recommendation of the Committee on Committees.

Leslie Hossfeld, Chair
Terceira Berdahl
Janice Johnson Dias
Kesha Moore 
Mercedes Rubio
Ellen Scott
Carrie Smith
Mark Warren
Bruce Western

Past Recipients

2020 - Patricia Fernandez-Kelly

2019 - Eric Wanner

2018 - Kristin Anderson Moore

2017 - Heidi Hartmann

2016 - Hugh Mehan

2015 - Eleanor Lyon

2014 - Harry Perlstadt

2013 - Donald Light

2012 - Judith Blau

2011 - Henry J. Steadman

2010 - Ross Koppel & Jan Fritz (co-winners)

2009 - S.M. Miller

2008 - John McKinlay

2007 - Robert Dentler

2006 - Arthur Shostak

2005 - William Kornblum

2004 - no recipient selected

2003 - Lewis Yablonsky

2002 - Lloyd H. Rogler

2001 - David Mechanic

2000 - Frances Fox Piven and Richard A. Cloward

1999 - Peter H. Rossi

1998 - Leonard I. Pearlin

1997 - Irwin Deutscher

1996 - Albert E. Gollin

1995 - Albert D. Biderman

1994 - Nelson Foote

1993 - Grace M. Barnes

1992 - Elliot Liebow and Matilda White Riley

1991 - Charles G. Gomillion

1990 - Elizabeth Briant Lee and Alfred McClung Lee

1989 - David L. Sills

1988 - Paul C. Glick

1987 - John W. Riley

1986 - Conrad Taeuber

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership