American Sociological Association

2014 Election Results

Results of the 2014 Election

Ruth Milkman, CUNY - Graduate Center, has been elected the 107th President of the American Sociological Association (ASA) for 2015-2016. Barbara J. Risman, University of Illinois - Chicago, has been elected Vice President for 2015-2016. Milkman and Risman will assume their respective offices in August 2015, following a year of service as President-elect and Vice President-elect. Milkman will chair the 2016 Program Committee that will shape the ASA Annual Meeting program in Seattle, August 20-23, 2016. As ASA President, Milkman will be a member of the ASA Council, which governs the association and its policies, and its chair in 2015-2016. She will also be a member of the ASA Committee on the Executive Office and Budget (2015-2017) and the 2016-17 Publications Committee.

Members also elected four new Council Members-at-Large: Adia M. Harvey Wingfield (Georgia State University); Tanya Maria Golash-Boza (University of California - Merced); Margaret Hunter (Mills College); and Peter Kivisto (Augustana College). Also elected were two members of the Committee on Publications, six members of the Committee on Nominations, and four members of the Committee on Committees.

In announcing the results of the election, Secretary Mary Romero and Executive Officer Sally T. Hillsman extended their heartiest congratulations to the newly elected officers and committee members and their appreciation to all ASA members who have served the Association by running for office and by voting in this election.

Nearly half the voting members of the ASA community took part in the 2014 election, which was nearly the same as last year. ASA is one of the very few scholarly associations with participation this high. Of the 9,146 members eligible to vote in the 2014 election there was a 45.3 percent participation rate, compared to 47.8 percent in 2013. In the 52 ASA Sections elections, 53.6 percent participated in 2014. Of the total votes cast, 100 percent were cast online.

The full slate of the newly elected ASA-wide officers and committee members follows:

Ruth Milkman, CUNY - Graduate Center

Vice President-Elect
Barbara J. Risman, University of Illinois - Chicago

Council Members-at-Large
Adia M. Harvey Wingfield, Georgia State University
Tanya Maria Golash-Boza, University of California - Merced
Margaret Hunter, Mills College
Peter Kivisto, Augustana College

Committee on Nominations
Grace Kao, University of Pennsylvania
Rashawn Ray, University of Maryland
Omar A Lizardo, University of Notre Dame
Lyn Spillman, University of Notre Dame
Wendy Cadge, Brandeis University
Victor Rios, University of California - Santa Barbara

Committee on Publications
Kathleen M. Blee, University of Pittsburgh
Douglas Hartmann, University of Minnesota

Committee on Committees
Bandana Purkayastha, University of Connecticut
Gilda L. Ochoa, Pomona College
Rita Stephan, U.S. Department of State
Amin Ghaziani, University of British Columbia

ASA Membership also voted and approved the following proposed amendments to the ASA Bylaws

Proposed Bylaws Amendment 1
Article V, Section 1 of the Bylaws specifies the membership of the Publications Committee.  The current text reads: “There shall be a Committee on Publications, consisting of the President, the Secretary, and six members elected by the voting membership of the Association, two each year for staggered three-year terms.”

Council recommends replacing the word “President” with “Immediate Past President” so that the sentence would read: “There shall be a Committee on Publications, consisting of the Immediate Past President, the Secretary, and six members elected by the voting membership of the Association, two each year for staggered three-year terms.”

This proposed change is recommended unanimously by both the EOB and Council. Upon election to the Presidency of the Association, the President begins a process of more than two years working with their Program Committees to prepare the program for the Annual Meeting for which they are responsible. During the four days of the Annual Meeting that is the culmination of more than two years of work, the President is asked to spend one-quarter of his or her time attending the Committee on Publications, which meets for a full day. It is the opinion of recent Presidents that this requirement is a serious impediment to them fulfilling their primary responsibility of putting together a program for the Annual Meeting. By agreement, the members of Council recommend that the Immediate Past President be designated to serve at the Publications Committee meeting in the role now occupied by the President. With this change, the President will still serve on the Publications Committee, just one year later when their terms as President is concluded and they become the Immediate Past President.

Proposed Bylaws Amendment 2
Article II, Section 1 of the ASA Bylaws provides details regarding the Committee on Committees.  Currently this paragraph reads: “The term of office shall begin on the date announced for the close of the Annual Meeting of the Association in the year during which they are elected, except that the term of office for members of the Committee on Nominations shall begin on the date announced for the beginning of the Annual Meeting of the Association in the year during which they are elected.”

The current language fails to mention the Committee on Committees, which follows the same pattern.  Therefore, Council recommends approval of inserting the words “and Committee on Committees” following “Committee on Nominations” in the first sentence of Article II Section 1.

This amendment will bring the Bylaws into compliance with actual practice for the last decade. When the Committee on Committees was restored by vote of the membership several years ago, this sentence of the Bylaws was not updated.

Proposed Bylaws Amendment 4
Article V, Section 6(c), of the ASA Bylaws defines membership of the Committee on Professional Ethics as “The members of COPE shall be appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the President.”

This amendment would correct the language to accurately reflect actual practice since the restoration of the Committee on Committees.  This recommended change is to delete “of the President” and replace it with “of the Committee on Committees”.

When the Committee on Committees was restored, the language of this section was not updated to reflect that change. The remaining portion of this paragraph correctly defines the three types of members appointed to this committee

Proposed Bylaws Amendment 4
Bylaws Article I, Section 4 deals with the ASA Code of Ethics.  Currently the language of Section 4 includes:  “Membership in the Association may be suspended or terminated, and the privileges of membership may be suspended wholly or in part, for failure to adhere to the Code of Ethics in accordance with Policies and Procedures to be adopted by the Council pursuant to Article V, section 7 of these Bylaws.”  The reference to section 7 is incorrect and should refer to section 6.  This amendment is to correct that error.

Proposed Bylaws Amendment 5
Article VI, Section 3 specifies that “A Section shall be entitled to cooperation from the Executive Office in matters of mailings to its members,…”

The Committee on Sections and Council recommend replacing the word “mailings” with “communication”.  Almost all communication with section members is handled electronically now.  This change is recommended to reflect the changing nature of communication and the move away from physical paper mailings.


Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership