American Sociological Association

Committee on Publications

The Committee on Publications (COP) is responsible for all proposals for the establishment of new publications or for major modifications in an existing publication of the Association, subject to the approval of the Council. 

The Committee on Publications is composed of the Past President, the Secretary, and nine members nominated by the Committee on Nominations and then elected by the membership for staggered three-year terms. A chair is selected from among the continuing elected members. 

Name Begin End Position
Mary Romero 9/1/2019 8/31/2020 Past ASA President
Nancy López 9/1/2019 8/31/2022 ASA Secretary
Nancy Kidd 9/1/2016 8/31/2022 Ex Officio Member
Karen Gray Edwards 1/1/2001 8/31/2022 ASA Staff Liaison
Mary Bernstein 9/1/2017 8/31/2020 Member
Nancy A. Naples 9/1/2017 8/31/2020 Member
Abigail C. Saguy 9/1/2017 8/31/2020 Member
Syed Ali 9/1/2018 8/31/2021 Member
Philip N. Cohen 9/1/2018 8/31/2021 Member
Kristen Schilt 9/1/2018 8/31/2021 Member
Julia Potter Adams 9/1/2019 8/31/2022 Member
Kristin Turney 9/1/2019 8/31/2022 Member
Debra Umberson 9/1/2019 8/31/2022 Member

Committee Meeting Agendas and Minutes

The agenda for each Committee on Publications meeting are posted following the meeting. Meeting minutes are posted following approval by the Committee at the next meeting.


January 2020 Committee MeetingAgenda 
August 2019 Committee MeetingAgendaMinutes
January 2019 Committee MeetingAgendaMinutes


The agendas and meeting minutes from previous meetings of the Committee on Publications can be found here


Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership