September/October 2010 Issue • Volume 38 • Issue 7

download pdfDownload full issue pdf

ASA Travel Grants to
ISA World Congress Are Awarded

Sixty-four sociologists had an easier time attending the XVIIth World Congress of the International Sociological Association (ISA) in Gothenburg, Sweden, this summer thanks to a travel grant awarded to the American Sociological Association by the National Science Foundation (NSF). The ASA received a $60,000 grant to provide travel funds to U.S. sociologists to attend the July 11-17, 2010, ISA World Congress.

The purpose of the travel support was to enable sociologists at all career stages to participate in an international conference that fosters scientific communication, research, and exchange. ASA received 142 applications for support. The Selection Committee that ranked the applicants and made the awards includes: Richard Alba, William D’Antonio, Bette Dickerson, Cynthia Epstein, David Kirk, Carole Marks, Rogelio Saenz, Caroline Persell, Ernest Quimby, Steve Tuch, Gaye Tuchman, Yonette Thomas, Program Administrator Katherine Rosich, and ASA Executive Officer and Principal Investigator Sally Hillsman. The Selection Committee focused on the nature and significance of the applicants’ participation in the meeting. Attention was paid to ensuring broad participation and to balancing applicant qualifications. The recipients include:

Gwendolyn Yvonne Alexis

Avraham Astor

Arturo Baiocchi

Mikhail Balaev

Rosemary L. Barberet

Monica Rao Biradavolu

Katerina Bodovski

Hilary Schaffer Boudet

Sorcha Alexandrina Brophy-Warren

Kuangchi Chang

Erica Chito Childs

Esther Ngan-ling Chow

Eugenia Conde-Dudding

Brian D. Cook

Suzanna M. Crage

Mary Ann Davis

Betty Ann Dobratz

Marlese Durr

Michael Elliott

Dana Fisher

David Flores

John Foran

Eli Friedman

Alexandra Gerber

Rachel Harvey

Donabelle Hess

Brian Philip Hinote

Pamela Irving Jackson

Pantea Javidan

Carolyn Smith Keller

Mary Kritz

Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld

Lauren Langman

Kirk Steven Lawrence

Bronwen Lichtenstein

April Linton

Stefano Longo

Samuel Lucas

Ligaya Lindio McGovern

Ami Moore

Ziad Munson

Emily Joy Nicklett

Neema Noori

Robert Nash Parker

Bernice Pescosolido

Gretchen Purser

Xuefei Ren

Elizabeth Roberto

Laura C. Robinson

Belinda Robnett

Russell K. Schutt

Ephraim Shapiro

Tom Smith

Elizangela Storelli

Alisa Herrmann Szatrowski

Roberta Villalon

Mike Vuolo

Lisa K. Waldner

Ming Wen

Anna Wetterberg

Mark. D. Whitaker

Monica Whitham

Patricia Widener

Zachary Zimmer asalogo

Back to Top of Page

Print this article share this article discuss this article

Featured Advertiser:


Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Site Map