November 2010 Issue • Volume 38 • Issue 8

download pdfDownload full issue pdf

Council Highlights

At its August 17-18, 2010, meetings in Atlanta, ASA Council welcomed six new Council members: President-Elect Erik Olin Wright, Vice President-Elect Edward Telles, and Council Members-at-large Cecilia Menjibar, Joya Misra, Mario Luis Small, and Robin Wagner-Pacifici. Pending Council approval and online posting of the minutes, the following is a brief snapshot of key decisions and information.

Minutes. Approved the meeting minutes for August 12, 2009, February 12-13, 2010, and May 26, 2010. Minutes of all Council meetings are available online at

2009 Audit. Approved the final audit which is available online at

Committees and Task Forces.

2011 Dues. Approved a 2.2% cost of living increase.

2011 Subscription Rates.

2011 Annual Meeting Registration

2012 Program Committee. Approved President-Elect Erik Olin Wright’s selection of the following members: Ronald R. Aminzade, Elizabeth A. Armstrong, Heidi I. Hartmann, Jerry A. Jacobs, Rhonda F. Levine, Barbara Risman, Carmen Sirianni, Sandra S. Smith; and ex-officio members Edward Telles (ASA Vice President), Catherine White Berheide (Secretary), and Sally T. Hillsman (Executive Officer).

Future Annual Meeting Sites. Approved proceeding to final negotiations with Montreal as the site for the 2017 and 2024 Annual Meetings.

Committee on Publications


Diversity Policy

Business Meeting Resolutions

Next Council Meeting. Affirmed holding in-person, mid-year meetings, providing weather cooperates. Dates of the next Council meeting are February 12-13, 2011, in Washington, DC. logo_small

Back to Top of Page

Print this article share this article discuss this article

Featured Advertiser:


Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Site Map