November 2008 Issue • Volume 36 • Issue 8

to print a pagePrint This Page

Call for ASA Award Nominations

W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship

The W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award honors scholars who have shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions. The award selection committee is particularly interested in work that substantially reorients the field in general or in a particular sub field. Nominations should include a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae and letters in support of the nomination. The most compelling cases contain five to eight letters from a variety of individuals able to speak to the qualifications of the nominees. The person making the nomination should obtain this material and forward it to the committee, with the nominee’s curriculum vitae, as a package. Nominations remain under active consideration for five award cycles.

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award

The ASA Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award honors outstanding contributions to undergraduate and/or graduate teaching of sociology. The award recognizes contributions that have made a significant impact on the manner in which sociology is taught at a regional, state, national, or international level. These contributions may include preparation of teaching- and curriculum-related materials and publications, participation in the scholarship of teaching and learning, development and communication of innovative teaching techniques, leadership in teaching-related workshops and symposia, involvement in innovative program development, and contributions to the enhancement of teaching within state, regional, or national associations. The award typically is given for a series of contributions spanning several years or an entire career, although it may recognize a single project of exceptional impact. The award is not designed to recognize outstanding teaching ability at one’s own institution unless that is part of a career with a broader impact. Individuals, departments, schools, or other collective actors are eligible. Nominations should include the name of the nominee and a one to two page statement explaining the basis of the nomination. Nominations should also include a vita, if applicable, and relevant supporting materials.

Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award

In 1971 the ASA Council established the DuBois-Johnson-Frazier Award to honor the intellectual traditions and contributions of W.E.B. DuBois, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. In 2006, members of the Association voted to change the name of this award to the Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award. The award is given to an individual or individuals for their work in the intellectual traditions of the work of these three African American scholars. Oliver Cox, Charles Johnson, and Franklin E. Frazier placed their scholarship in service to social justice, with an eye toward advancing the status of disadvantaged populations. Their scholarship was not limited to just the gathering of more data, but was rather scholarship that was attempting to better conditions globally.  Cox, Johnson, and Frazier worked to broaden the thinking of society and to broaden what the mainstream included.

Jessie Bernard Award

The Jessie Bernard Award is given in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology. It is presented for significant cumulative work done throughout a professional career. The award is open to women or men and is not restricted to sociologists. Only members of the Association may submit nominations for the Jessie Bernard Award. Nominations for career achievement should include a letter of nomination, a copy of the vita of the nominee, and examples of relevant scholarship or other materials.

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology

This award honors outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award may recognize work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others; work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as a whole; or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare. The recipient of this award will have spent at least a decade of substantial work involving research, administrative, or operational responsibilities as a member of or consultant to private or public organizations, agencies, or associations, or as a solo practitioner.

Award for Public Understanding of Sociology

This award is given annually to a person or persons who have made exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public. The award may recognize a contribution in the preceding year or for a longer career of such contributions. Nominations should include the nominee’s vita and a detailed one- to two-page nomination statement that describes how the person’s work has contributed to increasing the public understanding and knowledge of sociology.

Distinguished Scholarly Book Award

This award is given for a single book published in the two calendar years preceding the award year (e.g., nominations for 2010 award should be published in January of 2009 and throughout 2008 and 2007). Nominations must come from members of the Association and should include the name of author(s), title of book, date of publication, publisher, and a brief statement about why the book should be considered for this award.

Dissertation Award

The ASA Dissertation Award honors the best PhD dissertation from among those submitted by advisors and mentors in the discipline. Dissertations from PhD recipients with degree awarded in the 2008 calendar year will be eligible for consideration for the 2009 ASA Dissertation Awards. Nominations must be received from the student’s advisor or the scholar most familiar with the student’s research. Nominations should explain the precise nature and merits of the work. Six hard copies of the dissertation must be submitted along with a letter of nomination.

ASA Award for Excellence in Reporting of Social Issues

The Award for Excellence in the Reporting of Social Issues honors individuals for their promotion of sociological findings and a broader vision of sociology. The ASA would like to recognize the contributions of those who have been especially effective in disseminating sociological perspectives and research. The ASA is cognizant of the fact that there are many professionals (e.g., journalists, filmmakers) whose job it is to translate and interpret a wide range of information, including sociological perspectives and research, for the general public. This award is intended to promote a broader vision of sociology, and to gain public support for the sociological discipline.

Please send nominations for all awards to: American Sociological Association, 1430 K Street, NW, Suite 600; (202) 383-9005; Online submission form: The deadline for receipt of nominations is January 31, 2009 unless otherwise noted. small_green


Back to Front Page of Footnotes