May/June Issue • Volume 42 • Issue 5

download pdfDownload full issue pdf

MFP Thanks Donors Who Completed Their Five-Year Leadership Campaign Pledge

In honor of the 40th anniversary year of the Minority Fellowship Program (MFP), ASA is pleased to recognize those donors who have finished (or will finish in 2014) their five-year pledges to the 2009 MFP Leadership Campaign, which was led by former ASA Vice President Margaret L. Andersen and ASA Executive Officer Sally T. Hillsman. The MFP Leadership Campaign was supported by 87 contributing leaders, including Sociologists for Women in Society (SWS) and the Eastern Sociological Society (ESS). (See the September/October 2009, January 2010, March 2010, and November 2010 issues of Footnotes for prior articles on the Leadership Campaign.)

All of these leaders made a significant five-year commitment, or in a few cases a large one-time contribution, to help secure the future of MFP. This leadership came at a crucial time—following the end of NIMH T32 funding for MFP. The total amount of the 2009 and 2010 pledges came to nearly $470,000 over five years, bringing the Campaign close to its original $500,000 goal.

Thank you again to all who have supported the Campaign and also to all those who provide annual support to MFP at ASA membership renewal time, by attending the MFP Benefit Reception at each Annual Meeting, and through contributing publication royalties. A special recognition goes to our organizational partners SWS, Alpha Kappa Delta, the Midwest Sociological Society, the Association of Black Sociologists, and the Southwestern Sociological Association, and more recently, the Southern Sociological Society and the Pacific Sociological Association. Below is the list of donors who have completed their MFP Leadership Campaign pledges (or who are on track to do so in 2014).

This list will also be featured at the 2014 MFP Benefit Reception this August in San Francisco. As other pledges become completed, ASA will continue to recognize these donors on future lists in Footnotes. And, watch for other MFP 40th anniversary-themed articles still to come in 2014!

Completed pledges by:

Richard Alba

Margaret L. Andersen

Ronald & Jacqueline Angel


Janet L. Astner

William Bielby

Edna & Phil Bonacich

Andrew Beveridge

Eduardo Bonilla-Silva

Christine Bose

Clifford Broman

Tony N. Brown

Michael Burawoy

Linda Burton

José Z. Calderón

Craig Calhoun

Dan & Mary Ann Clawson

Patricia Hill Collins

Randall Collins

Robert Crutchfield

William D’Antonio

N.J. Demerath

Marjorie DeVault

Bonnie Thornton Dill

Russell Dynes

Eastern Sociological Society

D. Stanley Eitzen

Myra Marx Ferree & G. Donald Ferree, Jr.

Gary Alan Fine

Charles Gallagher

William Gamson

Cheryl Townsend Gilkes

Evelyn Nakano Glenn

Elizabeth Higginbotham

Sally T. Hillsman

Judith Howard

Arne L. Kalleberg

Felice Levine

Amanda Lewis & Tyrone Forman

Cora B. Marrett

Ramiro Martinez

Douglas S. Massey

Doug McAdam

McCune Foundation

Ruth Milkman

Joya Misra

Aldon & Kim Morris

Lisa Park & David Pellow

Mary Pattillo

Ruth Peterson

Barbara Reskin*

Pamela Roby

Orlando Rodriguez

Havidán Rodríguez

Judith Rollins

Mary Romero & Eric Margolis

Bernice A. Pescosolido

Gerald Platt

Willie Pearson, Jr.

William Roy

Rogelio Saenz

Gary Sandefur

Sociologists for Women in Society

Gregory Squires

Teresa Sullivan

David T. Takeuchi

Verta Taylor & Leila R. Rupp

Edward Telles

Kathleen Tierney

Don & Barbara Tomaskovic-Devey

David R. Williams

Charles Willie

Maxine Baca Zinn

* In honor of Carla B. Howery

Back to Top of Page

Print this article Connect on Facebook twitter

Special Announcement

Available Now!  ASA's 2014 Guide to Graduate Departments

Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Table of Contents