May/June 2013 Issue • Volume 41 • Issue 4

download pdfDownload full issue pdf


Sociologist Honored for Research on
Education and Immigrant Populations

In mid-February, Rubén G. Rumbaut, University of California-Irvine professor of sociology, was elected to the National Academy of Education (NAEd). He iss one of 12 new members admitted in 2013 for outstanding contributions in educational research and policy development.

Rumbaut is internationally known and widely cited for his research on children and young adults raised in immigrant families of diverse nationalities and socioeconomic classes. He has authored, co-authored, or edited numerous publications on the topic, including 14 books—with two more forthcoming. He was awarded the 2002 ASA Distinguished Book Award for Legacies: The Story of the Immigrant Second Generation (co-authored with Alejandro Portes), which also received the Thomas and Znaniecki Award from the International Migration Section. In addition, as a National Academy of Sciences panel member, he has contributed to two authoritative volumes on the U.S. Hispanic population.

Since 1991, Rumbaut has co-led (with Alejandro Portes) the landmark Children of Immigrants Longitudinal Study, following subjects from dozens of nationalities in South Florida and Southern California as they become adults. From 2002 to 2008, he co-directed the Immigration & Intergenerational Mobility in Metropolitan Los Angeles study, which focused on 1.5- and second-generation young adults of Mexican, Salvadoran, Guatemalan, Filipino, Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese, and other ethnic origins, compared with third-generation peers. Numerous follow-ups by Rumbaut and others have been based on this research. He’s currently conducting a longitudinal study of youth populations with roots in Ameca, Mexico, to see how they differ in educational status and transition to adulthood.

Sociologists Well Represented

In addition to Rumbaut, other sociologists to be elected to the NAEd, include: Gary S. Becker, Dan Lortie, and Stephen Raudenbush, all at University of Chicago; Anthony S. Bryk, The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching; Adam Gamoran and Robert M. Hauser, both of University of Wisconsin-Madison; Valerie Lee, University of Michigan; and Judith Warren Little, University of California-Berkeley; Hugh Mehan, University of California-San Diego; John W. Meyer, Stanford University. The NAEd emeritus sociologist members include Charles Bidwell, Robert Dreeben, Nathan Glazer, and Maureen Hallinan.

Since its establishment in 1965, the National Academy of Education has undertaken research studies that address pressing issues in education and that typically include both NAEd members and other scholars with an expertise in a particular area of inquiry. In addition, members are deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development fellowship programs focused on the rigorous preparation of the next generation of scholars.

Back to Top of Page

Print this article discuss this article

Special Announcement:

Now Available!  The 2013 Annual Meeting Insert

Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Table of Contents