May/June 2010 Issue • Volume 38 • Issue 5

download pdfDownload full issue pdf

Sociologists Elected to the
American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Four U.S.-based sociologists were among the nearly 230 leaders in the social sciences, the hard sciences, the humanities, the arts, business, and public affairs elected as members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In late April, the Academy announced its selection of sociologists Neil Fligstein, Robert M. Groves, John Lee Hagan and Robert Denis Mare as part of its 2010 Class of Fellows. They are in a class with astronomer Geoffrey Marcy, director Francis Ford Coppola, and National Endowment for the Humanities Chair James Leach

Fligstein, the Class of 1939 Chancellor’s Professor of Sociology at University of California-Berkeley; Groves, the director of the U.S. Census Bureau; Hagan, the John D. MacArthur Professor of Sociology and Law at Northwestern University; and Mare, a distinguished professor of sociology and statistics at University of California-Los Angeles will be inducted into the Academy on October 9, 2010, in Cambridge, MA.

"We are glad to see that the American Academy of Arts and Sciences continues to recognize the important work of sociologists," said Sally Hillsman, American Sociological Association Executive Officer.

Established in 1780 by John Adams and other founders of the nation, the Academy undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Its membership of scholars and practitioners from many disciplines and professions gives it a unique capacity to conduct a wide range of interdisciplinary, long-term policy research. Current projects focus on science and technology; global security; social policy and American institutions; the humanities and culture; and education.

For more information about the American Academy of Arts and Sciences’ 2010 Class of Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members, visit

Back to Top of Page

Print this article share this article discuss this article

Featured Advertiser:


Back to Front Page of Footnotes