homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

Plenary Session Features President Bielby’s Address and Honors Award Winners

On Sunday, August 17, at 4:30 pm, ASA members will celebrate the presentation of the eight major ASA awards to colleagues who have done outstanding sociological work.

ASA Awards Ceremony and Presidential Address
Sunday, August 17, 4:30-6:15 pm

Presider: Ivan Szelenyi, Yale University
Moment of Remembrance

    In Remembrance At the beginning of the Presidential Plenary, there will be a “Moment of Silence” to remember those members of the profession who died during the past year. Names submitted to Footnotes since last year’s Annual Meeting will be listed in the Final Program. If you know of names that should be on this list but may not have been sent to ASA, please contact ASA Meeting Services (202-383-9005, x309;

Award Ceremony
Presider: Craig Calhoun, Social Science Research Council and New York University
2003 Dissertation Award
2003 Jessie Bernard Award
2003 DuBois-Johnson-Frazier Award
2003 Award for Public Understanding of Sociology
2003 Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology
2003 Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award
2003 Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award 2003 Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award

After the Award Ceremony, this plenary features the formal address of ASA President William T. Bielby. All attendees are invited to this plenary session and to the Honorary Reception afterwards to honor President Bielby and the 2003 award recipients.