homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

Public Affairs Update

  • Vanneman Named to NSF Sociology Post . . . . Reeve Vanneman takes the helm in August as Program Director of Sociology at the National Science Foundation (NSF). He will commence a term as Visiting Scientist on leave from the University of Maryland as Fred Pampel returns to the University of Colorado-Boulder after a one-year stint.

  • Butz To Depart NSF . . .Search Underway . . . . William Butz, Director of the Social and Economic Sciences Division in the Directorate for Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences at NSF, is leaving this summer to lead a consulting group at the International Management and Communications Corporation. A search has commenced for a new director for this key social science post.

  • Nomination Advanced for OERI . . . . The President has nominated Grover J. (Russ) Whitehurst as Assistant Secretary to head the Education Departmentís Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI). Whitehurst brings strong scientific credentials to this post. Currently Chair of the Department of Psychology at the State University of New York-Stony Brook, he is a leading researcher on early-childhood literacy.

  • New Head for NEH . . . . President Bush has announced his intent to nominate historian Bruce Cole (Indiana University) to Chair the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). Cole is a Professor of Fine Arts and Comparative Literature and was appointed by George Bush Sr. to the National Council on the Humanities where he served from 1991-99.

  • AAHRPP Founded with Social Science Presence . . . . On May 23, seven organizations, including the Consortium of Social Science Associations (COSSA), announced founding the Association for the Accreditation of Human Research Protection Programs (AAHRPP). This non-profit organization aims to offer a voluntary, peer-driven, educationally focused accreditation program for human research protection. COSSA joined the Association of American Medical Colleges, Association of American Universities, Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology, National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges, National Health Council, and Public Responsibility in Medicine and Research in creating and launching AAHRPP.