March 2009 Issue • Volume 37 • Issue 3

to print a pagePrint This Page

Congratulations to the
2009 ASA Award Winners

ASA proudly announces the winners of the ASA Awards for 2009. The awards are the highest honor that the Association confers. These outstanding scholars will be recognized at the 2009 Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony in San Francisco, CA, on Sunday, August 9, at 4:30 pm. The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of ASA President Patricia Hill Collins.

The ASA awards honor sociologists for outstanding publications and achievements in the scholarship, teaching, and practice of sociology. The recipients are selected by committees directly appointed by the ASA Council.

The officers of the Association extend heartfelt congratulations to the following honorees:

W.E.B. DuBois Award of Distinguished Scholarship: Sheldon Stryker (Indiana University)

The W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award honors scholars who have shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions. The award selection committee looked for work that substantially reorients the field in general or in a particular subfield.

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology: S.M. Miller (Commonwealth Institute)

This annual award honors outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award recognizes work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others, work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as whole, or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare.

Distinguished Book Award: Steven G. Epstein (University of California-San Diego) for Inclusion: Politics of Difference

This annual award is given for a single book or monograph published in the three preceding calendar years.

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award: Carla Howery (American Sociological Association, retired)

This award is given annually to honor outstanding contributions to the undergraduate and/or graduate teaching and learning of sociology, which improve the quality of teaching.

Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award: Aldon D. Morris (Northwestern University)

The Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award honors the intellectual traditions and contributions of Oliver Cox, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. The award is given either to a sociologist for a lifetime of research, teaching, and service to the community or to an academic institution for its work in assisting the development of scholarly efforts in this tradition.

Excellence in Reporting of Social Issues Award: Barbara Ehrenreich

The Award for Excellence in the Reporting of Social Issues honors individuals for their promotion of sociological findings and a broader vision of sociology. The ASA would like to recognize the contributions of those who have been especially effective in disseminating sociological perspectives and research. The ASA is cognizant of the fact that there are many professionals (e.g., journalists, filmmakers) whose job it is to translate and interpret a wide range of information, including sociological perspectives and research, for the general public.

Jessie Bernard Award: Cecilia L. Ridgeway (Stanford University)

The Jessie Bernard Award is given annually in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology.

Public Understanding of Sociology Award: Jack Levin (Northeastern University)

This award is given annually to a person or persons who have made exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public.

Send questions about the awards to Diego de los Rios, Governance, Sections, and Archives at (202) 383-9005, ext. 330 or at


Back to Front Page of Footnotes