July/August 2013 Issue • Volume 41 • Issue 5

download pdfDownload full issue pdf


Paula England

Paula England

2013 Election Results

Paula England, New York University, has been elected the 106th President of the American Sociological Association (ASA) for 2014-2015. Cecilia Menjívar, Arizona State University, has been elected Vice President for 2014-2015. England and Menjivar will assume their respective offices in August 2014, following a year of service as President-elect and Vice President-elect. England will chair the 2015 Program Committee, which will shape the ASA Annual Meeting program in Chicago, August 22-25, 2014. As ASA President, England will be a member of the ASA Council, which governs the Association and its policies, and its chair in 2014-2015. She will also be a member of the ASA Committee on the Executive Office and Budget (2014-2016) and the 2015-16 Committee on Publications.

Cecelia Menjivar

Cecilia Menjívar

Members also elected four new Council Members-at-Large: Patricia E. White (National Science Foundation); Leslie McCall (Northwestern University); Karyn Lacy (University of Michigan); and Tina Fetner (McMaster University). Also elected were two members of the Committee on Publications, six members of the Committee on Nominations, and four members of the Committee on Committees.

In announcing the results of the election, Secretary Catherine White Berheide and Executive Officer Sally T. Hillsman extended their heartiest congratulations to the newly elected officers and committee members and their appreciation to all ASA members who have served the Association by running for office and by voting in this election.

Close to half the voting members of the ASA community took part in the 2013 election. ASA is one of the very few scholarly associations with participation this high. Of the 9,374 members eligible to vote in the 2013 election, 47.8 percent did so, compared with 48.4 percent in 2012. In the 52 ASA Sections elections, 54.9 percent participated in 2013. Of the total votes cast, 100 percent were cast online.

The full slate of the newly elected ASA-wide officers and committee members as follows:


Paula England, New York University

Vice President-Elect

Cecilia Menjivar, Arizona State University

Council Members-at-Large

Patricia E. White, National Science Foundation

Leslie McCall, Northwestern University

Karyn Lacy, University of Michigan

Tina Fetner, McMaster University

Committee on Nominations

Elizabeth A. Armstrong, University of Michigan

Francesca Polletta, University of California-Irvine

Monica McDermott, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Kathleen J. Ferraro, Northern Arizona University

Maxine Leeds Craig, University of California-Davis

Dawn T. Robinson, University of Georgia

Committee on Publications

Amy S. Wharton, Washington State University

Jennifer S. Barber, University of Michigan

Committee on Committees

Prudence Carter, Stanford University

Nikki Jones, University of California-Santa Barbara

Audrey Singer, The Brookings Institution

Catherine Bolzendahl, University of California-Irvine

Back to Top of Page

Print this article discuss this article

Featured Advertiser:

Fellowships Available

Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Table of Contents