July/August 2012 Issue • Volume 40 • Issue 6

download pdfDownload full issue pdf


The Results of 2012 Election Are In

annette lareau

Annette Lareau

Annette Lareau, University of Pennsylvania, has been elected the 105th President of the American Sociological Association (ASA) for 2013-2014. Brian Powell, Indiana University, has been elected Vice President for 2013-2014. Lareau and Powell will assume their respective offices in August 2013, following a year of service as President-elect and Vice President-elect. Lareau will chair the 2014 Program Committee that will shape the ASA Annual Meeting program in San Francisco, August 16-19, 2014. As ASA President, Lareau will be a member of the ASA Council, which governs the association and its policies, and its chair in 2013-2014. She will also be a member of the ASA Committee on the Executive Office and Budget (2013-2015) and the 2014-15 Publications Committee.

Brian Powell

Brian Powell

ASA Members elected Mary Romero of Arizona State University as the Secretary-Elect.  Romero will take office as Secretary-Elect in August 2012 and will overlap with current Secretary, Catherine Berheide, for one year.  In August 2013 she will start a three-year term as Secretary.

Members also elected four new Council Members-at-Large: Stephanie A. Bohon (University of Tennessee); Kelly A. Joyce (College of William and Mary); Dina G. Okamoto (University of California-Davis); and Jane Sell (Texas A&M University). Also elected were two members of the Committee on Publications, six members of the Committee on Nominations, and four members of the Committee on Committees.

Mary Romero

Mary Romero

In announcing the results of the election, Secretary Catherine White Berheide and Executive Officer Sally T. Hillsman extended their heartiest congratulations to the newly elected officers and committee members and their appreciation to all ASA members who have served the Association by running for office and by voting in this election.

Nearly half the voting members of the ASA community took part in the 2012 election, which was an increase over last year’s turnout. ASA is one of the very few scholarly associations with participation this high. Of the 9,459 members eligible to vote in the 2012 election there was a 48.4 percent participation rate, compared to 45.1 percent in 2011. In the 51 ASA Sections elections, 57.3 percent participated in 2012. Of the total votes cast, 100 percent were cast online.

The full slate of the newly elected ASA-wide officers and committee members follows:


Annette Lareau, University of Pennsylvania

Vice President-Elect

Brian Powell, Indiana University


Mary Romero, Arizona State University

Council Members-at-Large

Stephanie A. Bohon, University of Tennessee
Kelly A. Joyce, College of William and Mary
Dina G. Okamoto, University of California-Davis
Jane Sell, Texas A&M University

Committee on Publications

Erin Kelly, University of Minnesota
Vincent Roscigno, Ohio State University

Committee on Nominations

Joshua Gamson, University of San Francisco
David B. Grusky, Stanford University
Nadia Y. Kim, Loyola Marymount University
Kristen Schilt, University of Chicago
Zulema Valdez, Texas A&M University
Celeste M. Watkins-Hayes, Northwestern University

Committee on Committees

Mary Blair-Loy, University of California-San Diego (Members at Large)
Amy S. Wharton, Washington State University (Members at Large)
Linda M. Blum, Northeastern University (PhD Granting School)
Elisa Jayne Bienenstock, Georgetown University (Non-Academic Institution)

Back to Top of Page

Print this article discuss this article

Featured Advertiser:

fellowships available: Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University

Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Table of Contents